blue diamond pan review

Blue Diamond Pan Review: Does it Work?

Blue Diamond Pan is a nonstick frying pan with a layer of ceramic coating imbued with diamond. Does it really work? Here is my Blue Diamond Pan review.

Sponsored Links

Where to Purchase

You can pick up the Blue Diamond Pan on Amazon for about $30. It’s roughly the same price from the official website (discussed below) when you include shipping. The website only offers a single size pan, while Amazon has several options, including a griddle and grill pan.

About Blue Diamond Pan

Blue Diamond Pan is a new type of nonstick cookware which has a coating of ceramic which is reinforced by diamond. The official product website is bluediamondpan.com, which was registered in December 2017. The screenshot below shows how the product website looked in June 2018. As of this July 2020 update, the website is still online.

blue diamond pan review

Claims & Features

  • Sturdy ceramic coating infused with diamond
  • No toxic chemicals (PFAS, PFOA, lead, or cadmium)
  • Base of pan is forged to prevent warping
  • Contains nonstick coating
  • 5X stronger than regular nonstick cookware
  • Nonstick coating lasts 10X longer than average
  • Cooks 4X faster than normal nonstick pans
  • Withstands heat up to 850 degrees
  • Safe to use with cooking utensils and in the dishwasher

Blue Diamond Pan Review

The Blue Diamond Pan is a 9.5″ nonstick and scratch resistant pan that has an outer coating of ceramic which is enhanced with diamond. The advertising claims that the Blue Diamond Pan is 5x stronger, lasts 10x longer, and transfers heat 4x faster than the average pan. Besides being able to fry with the pan, it can also be placed in the oven or broiler, and can be heated safely up to 850 degrees.

Many of these nonstick cookware products are impressive at first, yet are likely to deteriorate with continued usage. This is made worse by exaggerated advertising demonstrations that I have found difficult to successfully recreate. Through experience, I’ve found that babying the nonstick coating of these new pans will help them last longer, but the majority of people tend to handle them like a regular pan, only to subsequently discover the nonstick surface rapidly degrading. There are some instructions on how to care for the Blue Diamond Pan in the FAQ of the product website. They suggest never allowing the pan to smoke or burn (always using it on low to medium heat), using a minimal amount of oil or butter while avoiding sprays and extra virgin olive oil, and hand washing in soapy water with a soft sponge (despite the claims that the pan is dishwasher safe).

freakin store

As you can see in the video below, I purchased two of these pans and used one according to the advertising demonstrations, and the other more closely aligned with the included instructions. I found that the nonstick surface washed quite easily no matter how much I scratched it or caked materials onto it. As far as food sticking without any oils at all, that seemed to vary based on the item in the pan. Egg, for example, still sticks to some degree, but the pan cleaned up effortlessly nonetheless. Melted cheese was no problem, nor were shrimp or chicken breasts. Surprisingly, using sandpaper on the pan’s surface barely made a scratch, although using a mixer (as depicted in the commercial) caused the most damage. Hitting the bottom of the pan with a hammer caused an obvious dent.

Despite a few mixed results when pushed to extremes, when I followed the instructions (low to medium heat, hand washing, using non-abrasives), the Blue Diamond Pan delivered impressive results. Nothing stuck, and it cleaned up quite easily. My only real complaint about the Blue Diamond Pan, other than the advertising demonstrations, is that the handle had a tendency to get quite hot.

In the end, if you ignore the advertising demonstrations and stick to the instructions, I think you may actually find this to be one of the better nonstick pans among the recent As Seen on TV offerings.

Two Year Update

After two years of owning this pan, I wanted to provide an update, although I stand by everything in my original review.

Until late 2018, I used the Blue Diamond pan regularly. Since then I have used it only occasionally. I’ve only put this pan in the dishwasher twice, and that was early on while performing my initial evaluation.

After 2 years, the surface still looks good, but the nonstick properties no longer impress. (July 2020)

It does appear after two years that the nonstick surface is not as impressive as the early days of using this pan. Using a little oil or butter certainly helps, but that is the case with almost any pan. With proper care, the surface still looks to be in very good condition, although its nonstick properties have degraded. My first instinct is to season the pan, but the FAQ clearly states, “Do not season the pan.”

In the end, I feel like there are better options out there in the same price range that have held up better, as I’ll discuss below. I feel like the Blue Diamond Pan is not bad for certain items, but anything particularly sticky could be problematic after this pan has aged. Finally, the handle’s tendency to get very hot very quickly is perhaps the pan’s greatest downfall.

Alternatives

If you’re just looking for a solid nonstick pan with stellar reviews, you may want to consider the GraniteStone Pro Series, which is moderately priced but has outperformed every pan in my collection, except for the original Granite Rock version. You can buy that pan here, or read my full review here.

Your Blue Diamond Pan Reviews

Have you used Blue Diamond Pan or something like it? Tell me your thoughts in the comments below!

Updated July 2020.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
12 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Michele
Michele
1 year ago

The fry pan coating is already coming off and I have only had it two months.

Bill
Bill
1 year ago

I purchased the smaller blue diamond skillet roughly a year ago. It’s very good if you follow the directions and do not leave the pan on a hot burning after use. It works so well I purchased the next 2 larger size skillets.

Nick Donovan
Nick Donovan
1 year ago

I have had my blue diamond non stick fry pan for about a month and a half, it should be call almost non stick. I like my bacon and eggs, after cooking bacon about 8-10 times everything sticks without a teaspoon of oil. Their add is fake. It is no better than any other crappy non stick product.

Ray
Ray
1 year ago

yep same here. Bought it specifically for frying eggs. 2 months old and they stick like hell

Richard
Richard
1 year ago

I tried to make simple pancakes with this pan and I also put a little non stick oil and the pancakes stuck like they were super glue worst pan ever never buy it

Cathie White
Cathie White
1 year ago

Bought these and they are the worst pans I ever bought thinking about throwing them out

Shelly Latimer
Shelly Latimer
1 year ago

I bought the 12” blue diamond over a year ago. It works fine for every day cooking unless you want to use it in the oven to “finish” meats that you seared on the cooktop. Then, they WARP. I have had TWO replacements (they stand my their warranty on their product! I CAN say that!!) I thought I could use it in the oven up to 500 degrees but that is not the case. At least not more than once! The swine replacement was just a shipping issue. It was dented in the side so the lid wouldn’t seal so… Read more »

Estee Andrews
Estee Andrews
1 year ago

I’ve had mine for over a month and no sticking, yet. However, the handle gets extremely hot. I have to use a mitten when using. I’m wondering if there is a rubber handle I can purchase and place on it?

Estee Andrews
Estee Andrews
1 year ago

The handle gets extremely hot.

Amy
Amy
1 year ago

This pan is the worst. I only got it November and eggs are sticking like crazy. Wish I could get something else. 😭😭😭

Lena
Lena
1 year ago
Reply to  Amy

I got ours about two months ago and it already has scratches and everything sticks to it. I am not happy with the product. I did not get any instructions with the frypan to let me know that I should cook on medium to low heat. I brought this pan at Canadian Tire. I am thinking I should get a replacement along with the instructions and cookbook.

Larry Strawn
Larry Strawn
1 year ago

I have used non stick pans for many years and the Blue Diamond is the worst pan I have ever tried to use. Everything sticks in it no matter how much oil I use. A simple scrambled egg, sautéd fish, you name it, it sticks and not just a little…..like scraping the pan to get it out. Don’t buy this pan.