HD Vision Special Ops Review: Tactical Sunglasses

HD Vision Special Ops are sunglasses which help enhance color and clarity while reducing glare. Do they really work? Here is our HD Vision Special Ops review.

Sponsored Links




About HD Vision Special Ops

HD Vision Special Ops is advertised as a pair of “tactical” sunglasses that provide enhanced clarity while offering scratch-resistant lenses. The official website is hdspecialops.com, with a registration date of June 2017. The screen capture below was taken of the product website in September 2017.

hd vision special ops review

Claims & Features

  • Heightens colors, contrast, and clearness
  • Decreases glare without dimming perspective
  • Blocks UV rays
  • Resists scratching
  • Optimal for a variety of activities

Cost

There is a mandatory double offer when ordering HD Vision Special Ops. It comes with the HD Vision Night Ops. The set costs $19.99 + $4.99 P&H for a total of $24.98. At the time of this writing, HD Vision Special Ops is not available in stores.

HD Vision Special Ops Review

It seems as though the As Seen on TV ‘tactical sunglasses’ bandwagon is now in full force with HD Vision Special Ops recently jumping on board. This product joins Tac Glasses, Red Shift XT Black Ops, and Battle Vision (formerly known as “Sniper Vision”) in this quickly growing niche of As Seen on TV tactical sunglasses. Not only do these four products share similar designs, but their advertising seems interchangeable.

If the name “HD Vision” sounds familiar, there have been several products advertised over the years under this brand name, such as HD Vision Glasses, HD Night Vision, HD Vision Visor, and HD Vision Flip Up Wraparounds.

So what makes HD Vision Special Ops stand out above ordinary polarized sunglasses? That’s actually a tough one to answer, because the differences are minimal. I’m not even sure there’s any discernible difference between the lenses in this product and the original HD Vision Glasses, other than in the shape. The original HD Glasses were also originally marketed as a set of day-night glasses, so what is being advertised right now feels like a re-packaged HD Vision Glasses with new frames in order to jump on the “tactical” bandwagon. That is purely speculation on my part.

Sponsored Links




That said, in comparing these sunglasses to the other tactical glasses in my arsenal (Red Shift XT and Tac Glasses), I would pick these over the other because the amber tinted lenses are more pleasing to look through, and the design is not as bad as the others. Tac Glasses has a sort of bug-like look while Red Shift XT looks more like safety goggles, thus I would choose these over the other both for style and function. They probably wouldn’t be my first choice of sunglasses, however.

I have no doubt that a pair of polarized lenses will enhance clarity and reduce glare, so if you pick these up, I’m sure they will work fine for you. I’d also expect the same results with the thousands of other polarized sunglasses on the market. The bendable frames are a nice touch, although not necessarily compelling enough to make these stand above the fray.

If it were me, I’d visit a sunglasses display at a local store and try on all of the polarized lenses to see which one looks best on my face. Now that you can find HD Vision Special Ops in stores (I picked them up at Walmart for $14.88, but keep in mind you might find them around the reading glasses instead of the As Seen on TV section), I don’t think that they are a bad purchase. They may not be worthy of some of the advertising hype, but they’re certainly an OK pair of plastic sunglasses.

Alternatives

There are a numerous  “tactical” sunglasses sold in stores and online. This pair of COSVER polarized sunglasses is pretty close in design and function to Sniper Vision, and also costs about $20 with Amazon Prime shipping. This model by Torege has even higher ratings with a price of about $22, and offers five interchangeable lenses for various situations.

Related Reviews

Below are my full reviews of Tac Glasses and Red Shift XT, both of which are very similar to HD Vision Special Ops.

Television Commercial

Your HD Vision Special Ops Reviews

What are your thoughts about HD Vision Special Ops? Drop a comment below and let me know what you think!

Updated January 2018

James White
James White is based in Las Vegas, Nevada, and has been reviewing strange gadgets since 2011. He also runs the successful "Freakin' Reviews" YouTube channel.

21 COMMENTS

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
21 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Neishala Hadai
Neishala Hadai
2 years ago

I ordered them and trying to track and the site is nowhere to be found !

Frances M Fournier-Pierce
Frances M Fournier-Pierce
2 years ago
Reply to  Neishala Hadai

I can’t track my double order either! Money already taken, did everyone get their order?

Cathy Rule
Cathy Rule
2 years ago
Reply to  Neishala Hadai

Thank you for sharing that regarding this. I’ve been ripped off by three companies. I appreciate your review of this company.

Cathy Rule
Cathy Rule
2 years ago
Reply to  Neishala Hadai

Thank you. That is something people need to know.

TmDaddy
TmDaddy
2 years ago

Do not order from a company that uses stolen valor! I do not personally know Kris Paronto, but I know the military. Yes, he was a ranger for awhile. Yes, he was part of the tragedy in Libya. But he was not “Special Forces Group”. That is a very specific term, and as former military he should know better.

Cathy Rule
Cathy Rule
2 years ago
Reply to  TmDaddy

Is that all you got to complain about? This was about the glasses not what you think about Paronto. Tells me nothing about the glasses. I hope you are not Special Forces Group. You can’t stay on task and subject over a pair of glasses.

TmDaddy
TmDaddy
2 years ago
Reply to  Cathy Rule

Ha, I do tend to take the semantics seriously. As to staying on task, if you knew us, most of us are texbook ADD!

TmDaddy
TmDaddy
2 years ago
Reply to  Cathy Rule

Oh, and to clear up, I have spoken with Mr Paronto and his publicist. They did not approve of the claims this company made about his service. So I stand by my comment, don’t do business with anyone who makes up or embellishes their product. No one in Special Operations would wear these glasses.

Eric T. Rainey
Eric T. Rainey
2 years ago
Reply to  TmDaddy

Army Rangers are a part of the Special Forces Command.

dumb ass!

TmDaddy
TmDaddy
2 years ago
Reply to  Eric T. Rainey

Check yourself, hero! Rangers are a part of SPECIAL OPERATIONS, but not a “part of the Special Forces Command”. Here is a link for those that think or pretend they know the hierarchy of Special Operations. http://www.soc.mil/usasfc/hq.html As I mentioned, I exchanged e-mails with Mr Paronto, he and I both agreed the “Special Forces Group” (I never brought up SFC) was not the right terminology, and the company inserted it without his direct knowledge. I was not a Ranger, and have nothing but respect for the studs that do make up the Ranger Regiment. I was a qualified Special Forces… Read more »

Mesomorphosis
Mesomorphosis
2 years ago

Freakin hilarious!! There blublockers

Jimbo
Jimbo
2 years ago

These are a load of bull…

Cathy Rule
Cathy Rule
2 years ago
Reply to  Jimbo

You didn’t tell me why you say that. That’s what I want to know

Carl Sandhop
Carl Sandhop
2 years ago

So the cost is $24.98 for the day and night vision.
You do or do not get a 2nd set automatically for another $24.98

freakinreviews
Admin
2 years ago
Reply to  Carl Sandhop

Correct. It is $24.98 per set, and each set includes the day/night version. I purchased mine at Walmart which didn’t include the night version.

Richard Lee
Richard Lee
2 years ago

Just received mine last week. Today one lens fell out and the other lens is scratched. I liked them before this happened.

BikerBro
BikerBro
2 years ago

I appreciate the review. It answered the primary questions I had, specificity if these were just some “polarized” shades and the comments let me know that they are NOT as durable as advertised.

Thanks TmDaddy for your clearing up Eric T. Rainey’s ignorant statement/personal attack on you. We 18Z’s need to be ready to provide over watch for each other!

TmDaddy
TmDaddy
2 years ago
Reply to  BikerBro

Thank you sir! I figure we’re pretty chill, and I don’t mind explaining SOF to folks, but it chaps my hide when people just want to throw “Special Forces” on everything. Thanks again.

darrell neil
darrell neil
2 months ago

do not buy, got a better pair at the dollar store for $5.

Gary Potter
Gary Potter
1 month ago

How can you use a unit that was disbanded nearly 20 years ago. You use the 75th ranger battalion, which was retired in 2002.

Jeffrey Soiu
Jeffrey Soiu
27 days ago

These sunglasses have FALSE advertising.
 
1] In fine print it states ‘do not place in direct sunlight’ – these are sunglasses, thus defeating its purpose!! 
 
2] Also the affect lasts 7 days then deteriorates into standard sunglasses

Giveaway

Sponsored

Popular

WowBacon Review: Does This Bizarre Bacon Cooker Work?

WowBacon is an unusual-looking bacon cooking device for the microwave. Today I offer my full review of WowBacon after giving it a try myself. Where...

Prep Solutions Microwave S’mores Maker Review

Today I'm taking a look at a microwave s'mores maker by Prep Solutions to see if it really works. This is a supplement to...

Mighty Sight Review: Do They Work?

Mighty Sight is a pair of As Seen on TV magnifying reading glasses that have chargeable LED lights on each side. Do they really...

Granitestone Pro Series Pan Review

Today I'm taking a look at the new Pro Series pan from the Granitestone brand to see how it works and how it compares...

Ninja Foodi Grill Review After 6 Months!

Ninja Foodi Grill is a 5-in-1 indoor grill that uses cyclonic grilling technology. Does it really work? Here is my full review after using...