Roto Sweep Review: Rotating Floor Sweeper

Roto Sweep is a rotating hard floor sweeper that uses no bags or electricity and weighs under two pounds. Does it actually work? Read our Roto Sweep review.

Sponsored Links




About Roto Sweep

Roto Sweep is a manual sweeper by Fuller Brush Co. that features three rotating brushes. The official product website is buyrotosweep.com, which was registered in December 2016. The screen shot below was taken of the product website in January 2017.

roto sweep review

Claims & Features

  • Brushes rotate 360 degrees
  • Good for hard floors
  • Built-in dustpan
  • No electricity or batteries
  • Bag-free design
  • Weighs under two pounds

Cost

You can get Roto Sweep for $19.99 + $7.95 shipping. A second unit is included for another $7.95 shipping, and you can’t opt out of this double offer. There is also a $2 “web surcharge fee” added to all orders. This brings your total to $37.89 for two units.

I found Roto Sweep at a local Fry’s here in Las Vegas for $20.

Roto Sweep Review

Roto Sweep is a manual sweeper that features three brushes that spin as you move the device along the floor. It is advertised as a lightweight and effective way to clean up messes on hard floors.

The unit itself sports a very familiar design, one that I’ve seen in a dozen or more similar sweepers sold online, mostly by no-name manufacturers. The first to appear online was the EasyEdge Lightweight Hard Floor Sweeper on QVC in early 2016. These types of brooms include two flat brushes that protrude from the sides, and flank a center vertically-spinning brush.

As you push Roto Sweep across the floor, the outer brushes spin and grab small items on the floor which are then picked up by the center brush that in turn deposits them into the built-in dustpan. This dustpan can be opened and its contents dumped out when you are finished. The handle rotates and can lay flat so you can reach underneath couches or tables more easily.

Roto Sweep can only be used in a forward motion. Pulling it backwards risks spilling the contents of the dustpan back onto the floor. Additionally, a small amount of downward pressure needs to be used in order to make the brushes spin.

It’s an effective design, as long as your expectations are realistic. You should be able to pick up crumbs and other dry spills pretty easily. I’ve found that the center brush tends to cling to pet hair and requires regular cleaning. This can be done with a cheap comb, although competing products Easy Edge and Hurricane Spin Broom actually supply a special comb for this purpose. It’s not really designed for large areas, but for small sweeping jobs, these brooms do a great job.

You can’t use Roto Sweep on carpeting, as I have tried it on regular carpet and berber, to no avail. The brushes dig into the carpet and won’t spin at all.

Sponsored Links




Having used a couple brooms sporting this design for a couple of months, I am hooked on the concept. I do have to regularly clean the center brush which picks up dog hair, but otherwise the idea behind these three-brush brooms is effective.

Unfortunately, when I matched the Roto Sweep against two other competitors, as you can see in the video below, the Roto Sweep came out at the bottom. I found it to be louder than the others, and it didn’t do as good of a job of picking up fine materials like coffee grounds or flour. For larger spills, like crumbs or cereal, it did a decent job.

Fuller Brush Co.

If you are relying on the Fuller Brush Co. reputation to ensure a good product in Roto Sweep, you may want to think again. The Fuller name is simply licensed to an As Seen on TV marketer who manufactures and ships this product. Note that Roto Sweep does not appear on the company website alongside other brooms and sweepers. It also does not appear on the official Fuller Facebook page. Additionally, the Roto Sweep website was registered by SAS Group, a marketing group that promotes As Seen on TV products.

I reached out to Fuller Brush Co. for clarification. A representative at first appeared to have no idea what Roto Sweep was. When I sent over a link to the Roto Sweep website, she responded with a rather confusing, “Fuller Brush does not carry the Roto Sweep.”

To further confuse matters, there was a product by Sanyo called Roto-Sweep about a decade ago that was a bagless stick vacuum, and completely unrelated to this Roto Sweep.

Finally, reps with the Fuller Brush Company confirmed on Facebook that their name was licensed for this product, and they have no other association with it, other than the name on the broom.

roto sweep review
Emptying the Roto Sweep dustpan.
roto sweep review
Roto Sweep didn’t pick up flour as well as two other spin brooms.
roto sweep review
Roto Sweep right out of the box.

Alternatives

A similar item in this category is something like the Swivel Sweeper Max, a $30 sweeper that features a swivel head and spinning brushes, but that model is an electric sweeper. It currently holds a 4 star rating among over 1,700 consumers on Amazon. If you are set on a manual sweeper, the $30 Sanitaire Carpet/Floor Sweeper also features rotating brushes and sports positive consumer ratings.

Roto Sweep is one of several such sweepers to hit the airwaves in 2017. The others are Hurricane Spin Broom, Clorox Scrubtastic, and Turbo Tiger Sweeper. From what I can tell, these are all similar to Easy Edge that was first marketed on QVC in early 2016. You can see my reviews of Roto Sweep, Easy Edge, and Hurricane Spin Broom in the videos below.

Television Commercial

Your Roto Sweep Reviews

Have you used Roto Sweep ? Let us know what you think by leaving a comment below and a star rating above.

Updated April 2017.

James White
James White is based in Las Vegas, Nevada, and has been reviewing strange gadgets since 2011. He also runs the successful "Freakin' Reviews" YouTube channel.

58 COMMENTS

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
58 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
DeniZe
DeniZe
3 years ago

Thank you for your candid and thorough investigation of the TV-marketed Roto Sweep. I was about to order it solely based on the product and the Fuller Brush reputation. However, I will not follow through on my order. It is not so much that it was not a Fuller Brush product rather misleading advertising. In this case it begs the question how else is this company misleading its customers? Again thank you! Your review was very helpful.

Pddley Diddlesquat
Pddley Diddlesquat
3 years ago

$16 P&H for a $20 object is both highway robbery and taking the customer for a fool. I can certainly afford $16. Heck, I could pay $60 for P&H — that’s not the issue. I will NOT be taken for a fool. All other reputable companies will include additional items in the SAME BOX for the same P&H. This scam is nothing new — just typical greed. I’ve seen $10 items with $12 P&H. This is ABSURD! I’ll wait until it becomes available in the stores..

Bruce S
Bruce S
2 years ago

Target has it

BriannaNoob
BriannaNoob
2 years ago
Reply to  Bruce S

Bruce S I agree. Target also has good prices on plumbing supplies and tampons this week. Great thing is you can return things easily, i.e. my tampons didn’t fit so I returned them. I guess I should have taken out the used one before returning it. I’ll do the same with this sweeper, if it doesn’t work, doesn’t fit or too painful to put on, I’ll just return. No shipping wasted, although the taxi ride is about $16.

bryguyf69
bryguyf69
3 years ago

FYI, the “bonus” offer for $7.95 s/h is not a second unit. Instead, it’s a much smaller handheld model that supposedly sweeps crumbs off furniture. And you can opt out by unchecking the box at checkout. It probably does a really poor job and is definitely not worth the $7.95 s/h. My guess is that they cost $1 in China. The $7.95 s/h is a common mail order scam. It’s so small, it can be shipped in the same fixed-rate USPS box as the RotoSweeper so why the extra shipping cost? And how much “handling” does it take to put… Read more »

DeniZe
DeniZe
3 years ago
Reply to  bryguyf69

That was apparent however not to all. I initially thought it a ‘handy’ extra until it was not a true gift rather a telemarketing shell game to squeeze more money out of the naive consumer by the use of distraction. The offer of something for nothing will always trump common sense.

Barbie Williams
Barbie Williams
3 years ago

I agree with you all! $7.95 for a 2lbs is RIDICULOUS! I was going to order this, but I rather continue using my Broom, than pay this amount. Nothing but a RIP-OFF! And I am not BUYING it. No Thank You.

Ann K. Shaw
Ann K. Shaw
3 years ago

I bought the easy edge sweeper and it is wonderful !! It does every thing it says it will do. I bought it through QVC’s web site. I also got a discount since this was my first order from them.
If you want a good sweeper, read the reviews on the easy edge and you will see, it is the best sweeper to buy. Love mine, it picks up everything !!!!

Barbie Williams
Barbie Williams
3 years ago
Reply to  Ann K. Shaw

Ann, you didn’t say how much it cost????????

freakinreviews
Admin
3 years ago

As far as I know, it’s only available from QVC for $16, and shipping is about $5-$6.

Ann K. Shaw
Ann K. Shaw
3 years ago

You can go to the QVC website to see the price, and the 20% discount for 1st time customers. I am sorry I don’t remember how much it was. I do think it was just under $20 and I got 20% off for being a new customer. . I got the blue one. It is worth every penny !!! Checkout the reviews on it. If you want a sweeper, buy the edge sweeper. I love mine.

Barbie Williams
Barbie Williams
3 years ago
Reply to  Ann K. Shaw

I’ll probably try the QVC website. I did see it on HSN website for $29.95 + s/h. but it was slightly different, even though it clean the same way. Bath and Beyond should have it in their store soon. I can wait.

Ann K. Shaw
Ann K. Shaw
3 years ago

Check out the QVC website to buy it. I think that will be the only place you can get the original and at a reasonable price. It shows the original one and not a copy.

Ann K. Shaw
Ann K. Shaw
2 years ago

Did you get your sweeper from QVC? How did you like it?

Sandra Gentile
Sandra Gentile
2 years ago
Reply to  Ann K. Shaw

Just went to QVC and purchased this per your advice. I’m sure it’s much better than Fuller Brush sweeper. Thank you! They didn’t have blue and I got $5.00 off for being a new customer. But it was total under $20.00.

Ann K. Shaw
Ann K. Shaw
2 years ago
Reply to  Sandra Gentile

You will see a big difference. I love mine and still use it everyday. Just make sure you always push it in the forward position, that is the only direction it works in, per directions. You will have to clean the middle brush sometimes, as you would anything. Let me know what you thing after you use it. It will pick up leaves, pet hair, paper, almost everything. Love mine

Bruce S
Bruce S
2 years ago
Reply to  Ann K. Shaw

Apparently it doesn’t pick up cat litter as 2 people have attested to.

Barbie Williams
Barbie Williams
3 years ago

Did anyone notice that Amazon is selling the same Roto Sweeper for (get ready for this) $99.95!!! Oh, the s/h is FREE. Haaaaa haaaaaaaaa

freakinreviews
Admin
3 years ago

That is typically a third party seller who sees that these are a hot item, buys some, marks it up considerably, and the resells it. I can’t imagine anyone paying that!

Debbie Hite
Debbie Hite
3 years ago

Got mine yesterday have a cat so litter gets tracked around this sweeper DOESNT PICK IT UP…WASTE OF MONEY

gramsclp
gramsclp
2 years ago
Reply to  Debbie Hite

Thanks for this review-I was going to buy it strictly for the cat litter problem, but I will not bother now

Sowley
Sowley
3 years ago

Ordered one on Apr 5, 2017. Order confirmed. Still don’t have sweeper. Customer service # gives you a recording to visit the website or be placed on “hold”. Customer tracking link says it is backordered. No anticipated delivery date. I’m going to try to cancel this order, just for the hell of it. Wondering how long my refund, if ever, will be?. Really annoyed right now.

Natalie D
3 years ago
Reply to  Sowley

You should cancel before they send it. It does a terrible job, it pushes things away,rather than picking it up. Still trying to return mine

Sowley
Sowley
3 years ago
Reply to  Natalie D

I was too late…I got the piece of crap the day after I posted that comment! You are right…wouldn’t pick up anything. I mainly bought it to catch the dog hair in between vacuuming. Wouldn’t even do that.

Ann
Ann
3 years ago
Reply to  Sowley

I have a couple of shedding dogs. Hair all over the house. I use a swiffer duster in between vacuuming, and toss the pad in the garbage. The only drawback is the cost of the pads. I use a Shark with the head that has a suction vent and a microfiber pad on it for vacuuming and it does a great job. The pad is washable and you can buy extras.

Ann
Ann
3 years ago
Reply to  Natalie D

Which sweeper did you get, Natalie?

Ann
Ann
3 years ago
Reply to  Sowley

Did you order the Roto Sweeper or another sweeper?

Sowley
Sowley
3 years ago
Reply to  Ann

The Roto Sweep that is advertised by the fake “Fuller Brush” man on TV, since Fuller Brush does not sell this thing!

Bonnie Young
Bonnie Young
3 years ago

I waited over a month to receive my roto sweep. I have maybe used it 4 to 5 times before it broke! I called to receive my refund and I was told I have to pay for shipping! So I waited a month and paid a crazy amount for shipping, to be told I have to pay for shipping again before I receive my refund! I don’t recommend this product to anyone! I also asked about receiving a replacement one, but was told they can’t do that! Waste of month and the staff is very rude and doesn’t seem like… Read more »

Gordon Cerniglia
Gordon Cerniglia
3 years ago

I am trying to stop the charge on my credit card on this purchase because on the final billing page it reflected double the order or $73 plus and I hit the button to soon. It’s Saturday so I can not reach them today so I called my credit card company and they told me they don’t show a charge on this product and they said it should have been there in about 3 seconds on their end. So I have to wait till Monday to follow thru.

Ann
Ann
3 years ago

Which sweeper did you order?

Ann Rand
Ann Rand
3 years ago

I ordered my Roto Sweeper on Mar. 19 , 2017….. It was delivered today ,Apr.24 , 2017…I feel that mine was surely manufactured in China, because it cost me $7.95 (shipping ) and took well over a month for it to get here..I tried to pick up kitty litter off my tiled back porch ..It did a sorry job and I am sorely disappointed.. I would return it , but it would cost too much and is not worth the effort .. I will probably put it in my neighbor’s yard sale for $5.00 and feel lucky to get that… Read more »

fedupwithdemjerks
fedupwithdemjerks
3 years ago

If you love products from China, you will be most happy with this one too

bryguyf69
bryguyf69
3 years ago

I Do love products from China — as long as they work. China produces the vast majority of consumer goods in the world, from high quality products like Sony and Apple electronics to generic $1 store junk. The problem is not China, but Quality Control from the manufacturer, i.e. Sony and Apple on the high end to Ensom on the low end. As for why I love Chinese products, it’s simple. Great prices and work ethics. Indeed, most of the stuff I buy off eBay gets shipped from China. In the 10+ years of doing so, I’ve only had ONE… Read more »

Tanya Gerber
Tanya Gerber
3 years ago

I’d like to have this cute product, but the broom and hand brush plus excessive double SH brings the bill to around 40 bucks… That makes me pause.

Joseph Varall
Joseph Varall
3 years ago

Had problems changing my order

Ann
Ann
3 years ago

I have canaries that toss their seed out on the floor. I have to sweep under the cage every day. I am thinking Easy Edge might do the job since it picks up coffee grounds. Anybody know?

carol nelson
carol nelson
3 years ago

Having tried my newly ordered Rotosweeper many times I found it to not work well and is a piece of junk-also not worthy of the Fuller name. Being able to ONLY push forward makes it harder to operate. I really got “took”!

Linda Colp
Linda Colp
3 years ago

Finally received the broom. It does not pick up anything! I have a different make of the same thing at my winter home. IT WORKS! The Fuller one is junk.

bryguyf69
bryguyf69
3 years ago
Reply to  Linda Colp

You should have put “Fuller” in quotes. 🙂

molly kennedy
molly kennedy
3 years ago

Shipping too high, false advertisement that they give you free gift, pc of junk, who just sweeps forward. Now I am finding out it is not really a fuller brush product. I have been had. We all ought to put in a class action lawsui

Linda Deutscher
Linda Deutscher
2 years ago

I bought the Fuller Roto Sweeper, please extra for gifts earlier this year from their website. At first I loved it. But now not so much. 🙁 The hair that I and my family naturally shed, ends up on the hard floors too, and that hair works it’s way into the main roller ends with every rotation of the brushes, plugging up the rotation of the drive gears to the point that brushes can barely rotate. It’s VERY hard to get the hair out, and there is a risk of braking the plastic parts while trying to remove it. All… Read more »

freakinreviews
Admin
2 years ago

I do get hair in the main roller, but not as you seem to be getting. With the large roller, I just use one of the combs that came with the Easy Edge or the Hurricane Spin Broom. Any comb would work, though.

Linda Deutscher
Linda Deutscher
2 years ago
Reply to  freakinreviews

If I combed out every time I used it, that would help. But then a broom and dust pan would be quickest to use. This got under the middle brush roller ends shield/roller caps, as you can see in the first picture on the left, there is no way to comb out nor cut out that large roll of hair rolled up under the cap. It has to be taken apart, then the rolled hair will slide off the end.

damonatkinson
damonatkinson
2 years ago

I have yet to receive my Roto Sweep but I have nothing but bad things to say about teh company selling these. I placed an order thru their website for 1 roto sweep and one bonus hand brush (just pay S&H for that). I then received a confirmation email for two of each totaling $73.78, when it should’ve been $36.89. I then proceeded to receive a total of 6 confirmation emails, all with different confirmation numbers and all for the double order of $73.78. Then the real kicker is that I had 4 pending transactions in my bank account for… Read more »

YourTeachersAide
YourTeachersAide
2 years ago
Reply to  damonatkinson

Yes, you should reject it upon delivery so that the carrier (USPS, UPS, Fedex) would take it back immediately. Just explained that it was mistakenly sent. Record the delivery attempt if possible. If you might not be home. leave a note on your door. Or if you’re using UPS or Fedex, you may even be able to call them or go online to pre-emptively reject delivery so that an attempt won’t even be made..

damonatkinson
damonatkinson
2 years ago

An update on my situation with my Roto Sweep order. A rep from Fuller called my cell phone to discuss my situation as her boss sent her a message about my situation the night before so she looked into my situation first thing the next morning then called me. She said they were extremely sorry any of this happened but that they had identified the problem, fixed it and stopped all pending payments on my account. I then checked my bank account and sure enough, those pending transactions were gone. She then explained that they would be refunding my charge… Read more »

freakinreviews
Admin
2 years ago
Reply to  damonatkinson

Not to split hairs, but the rep who called you wasn’t from Fuller, but the marketing group who licensed the Fuller name and sells this product. Fuller has already disavowed this product on their Facebook page. Nevertheless, I’ll be interested to hear what you think about it after you’ve had a chance to use it.

Shelly Fox
Shelly Fox
2 years ago

THANK YOU EVERYONE FOR THE COMMENTS—-I WILL NOT ORDER THIS PRODUCT—-YOU GUYS SAVED ME TIME AND MONEY FROM ORDERING SOMETHING THAT IS NOT A GOOD PRODUCT—-THANK YOU!!!!

TO BLACKS
TO BLACKS
2 years ago

Good reviews

OMiGosh!
OMiGosh!
2 years ago

Never received the hand held. They said it was back ordered. Gave them plenty of time to ship it. Then I called. They said I waited to long … they will not ship now. Too bad for me. Very rude.

Lori E Dunbar
Lori E Dunbar
2 years ago

This is truly a piece of garbage. It picks up absolutely nothing. Complete waste of money. It’s also really flimsy, so constantly tips over. Junk.

Lori E Dunbar
Lori E Dunbar
2 years ago
Reply to  Lori E Dunbar

Returning mine – came from Menards. 20 bucks. Brooms work much better. The cheapest ones work best.

Sandra Gentile
Sandra Gentile
2 years ago

I wish I had read your review before purchasing this piece of crap. It is a very useless broom. I wanted something to clean debris off the tile floors in the family room that my 2 schnauzers drag in from outside. Occasionally it will pick some of it up, but more often not. I end up getting my regular broom out. Lucky are those that find your review prior to purchasing this over priced piece of uselessness.

Christine Gill
Christine Gill
2 years ago

Got the Fuller Brush Roto Sweeper and after 1 use bristles were bent. Instructions says to use low temp of blow dry, Doesn’t sweep up well. Daughter-in-law saw I had and told me to get her one. Showed hermine. She says don’t get it. Made cheaply

AucepsHidingfmDeepState
AucepsHidingfmDeepState
2 years ago

The Fuller website doubled my order without asking me. $39.98 for two brushes and $33.80 for shipping and handling. I called them up right away and I was told I could not cancel the added item, I would have to ship the unwanted item back to them, at my cost of course. It is cheap, I used it once and the circular brushes are already bent out of shape they are so flimsy and cheap, if the brushes were stiffer they would probably do a much better job. Fake, cheap, crap. Waste of money and from my experience the Fuller… Read more »

Brian Robinson
Brian Robinson
2 years ago

Biggest POS DO NOT BUY. Went went to return got taken for s&h. Bad customer service. Just all round crap.

Ryan Becker
Ryan Becker
2 years ago
Reply to  Brian Robinson

No, my boyfriend is the biggest POS. This comes in as a close second though.

Giveaway

Sponsored

Popular

WowBacon Review: Does This Bizarre Bacon Cooker Work?

WowBacon is an unusual-looking bacon cooking device for the microwave. Today I offer my full review of WowBacon after giving it a try myself. Where...

Prep Solutions Microwave S’mores Maker Review

Today I'm taking a look at a microwave s'mores maker by Prep Solutions to see if it really works. This is a supplement to...

Mighty Sight Review: Do They Work?

Mighty Sight is a pair of As Seen on TV magnifying reading glasses that have chargeable LED lights on each side. Do they really...

Granitestone Pro Series Pan Review

Today I'm taking a look at the new Pro Series pan from the Granitestone brand to see how it works and how it compares...

Ninja Foodi Grill Review After 6 Months!

Ninja Foodi Grill is a 5-in-1 indoor grill that uses cyclonic grilling technology. Does it really work? Here is my full review after using...