22

Tac Glasses Review: Do They Enhance Visual Clarity?

Tac Glasses Review: Do They Enhance Visual Clarity?
2.9 (58.78%) 49 votes

Tac Glasses are tactical sunglasses that supposedly boost visual clarity, enhance colors, and block glare. Do they work as advertised? Here is our Tac Glasses review.

Sponsored Links:

About Tac Glasses

Tac Glasses are specialized sunglasses that are inspired by tactical/military gear. They supposedly increase optical clarity, augment color perception, and prevent glare. The official website is trytacglasses.com, with a registration date of May 2017. The screen capture below was taken of the product website in May 2017.

tac glasses review

Claims & Features

  • Includes light-filtering technology
  • Blocks blinding glare
  • Augments colors
  • Sturdy design withstands the elements
  • Influenced by military sunglasses

Cost

Tac Glasses cost $19.99 with free shipping. There is an optional double offer for a second pair which charges a separate fee of $6.95, bringing your total to $26.94. At the time of this writing, Tac Glasses are not available in stores.

Tac Glasses Review

When I saw that the “Tac” brand was back with another commercial featuring Nick Bolton, I wasn’t sure if I should cringe or laugh – based on some of the previous TacLight brand commercials I’ve seen (in particular Tac Bat, but that’s another story). Fortunately, the commercial for Tac Glasses isn’t quite as cheesy as some of the brand’s previous offerings.

With Tac Glasses, we have a pair of polarized sports/military/tactical sunglasses that allows you to see better by reducing glare and enhancing colors. The commercial does a reasonable job of demonstrating how such glasses work, without actually using the word “polarized” or really giving a great deal of detail about the product itself. Does it provide UV protection? Are those polycarbonate lenses? We just don’t know. The packaging doesn’t reveal much, either.

Sponsored Links:

Tac Glasses appear to be a respectable pair of polarized sports/military sunglasses, offering a familiar design. I own a pair, and found that they provide decent clarity and do reduce glare. They don’t appear to be made of the highest quality materials, and feel to me like a $10-$15 pair of sunglasses from Walmart. Additionally, I don’t particularly like the shape of the lenses for purely aesthetic reasons, but that is strictly a matter of taste.

There are small corners at the bottom edge of the lenses that I felt slightly poking my nose. It wasn’t a deal-breaker, but it’s a slightly uncomfortable reminder that they are there.

There is certainly nothing wrong with Tac Glasses, but also nothing particularly extraordinary about them either. They function pretty well, but I’m not sold on the shape and design. The advertising doesn’t do a good job of letting consumers know that there are three different versions of Tac Glasses, because it’s marketed as if it were a single product. They have the Original, plus one for increased glare reduction and another for night vision. The ads state that Tac Glasses are good in low light, but when I took them in my car at night, I could barely see.

I don’t know if I would believe the commercial’s claim that “There’s just nothing like them on the market today.” As I note below, these types of sunglasses are actually quite common.

tac glasses review

A closeup of Tac Glasses.

tac glasses review

Tac Glasses do reduce glare and enhance colors.

Alternatives

There are a number of “tactical” or “military” sunglasses to be found in stores and online. This pair of COSVER polarized sunglasses is quite close in design and function to Tac Glasses, and can be purchased for about $20, with Amazon Prime shipping. This model by Torege has even higher ratings with a price of about $22, and offers five interchangeable lenses for various situations.

Video Review

Below you can find my full video review of Tac Glasses.

Your Tac Glasses Reviews

What are your thoughts about Tac Glasses? Drop a comment below and a star rating above to let us know what you think about it.

Updated September 2017.

  • Cayman

    Just got mine. Really cheaply made. I won’t expect mine to last long. These do not bring out any colors. They are so reflective and darkly tinted that you will think that the sun just set as everything turns dark gray. I tried to use them driving and quickly decided that I lost too much clarity in the dimness of fast moving objects and removed them. The only place I would consider using these would be on a bright and sunny beach where you would want to block reflected sun from the water and white sand. I think about three or 4 pairs of these lined up would have enabled one to look at the eclipse.

  • Samuel Vain

    I’ve ordered twice from the website and both times I got the confirm email and saw the transaction in my account, then never got my glasses and both times all digital record of the transactions disappeared from my email and the bank, but I saw no difference in my balance after the money was paid. Something stinks about this website! I’ve lost $60 and Tac has nothing to say.

  • Doug

    Ordered many months ago. Called a month ago, talked to a very hateful “:B” She said they were on back order. No debit on my acc. so not going to worry about it.
    From the sound of things they aint worth having anyway!!

  • Chuck

    I finally received mine yesterday after a 2 month wait. For sure, the lenses are different from your typical sunglasses. Low quality frames that have to be pampered or could break. I really wasn’t expecting much but I do like the difference. Don’t look at the sun because they seem to blot the haze and enhances the sun itself. They’re OK.

  • Doug

    Finally got them. So flimsy need two hands to put them on. Nothing special. $10. Walmart would have been better. Hyped up advertising.
    I DO NOT RECOMMEND !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Andy Cowan

    So i bought these and they are not to shabby. The nose cushion pieces fall off kinda easy but they reduce sunglare very well. I bought the blue lens too which im not sure what is purpose is other then it makes the sky look pretty. The yellow ones i guess( cause it dosnt say) are the low light/night glassses. They do brighten the view and if there is a light source they do make it brighter but its not a huge difference. Overall im pleased and would recomend the basic version. Dont buy the add ons, not really worth it but they r neat!

  • Alice Haldeman

    Reading all this makes me glad they don’t take Discover as I might have ordered if they did. I’m looking for something that will let me see my cell phone screen in the bright Florida sunlight. Any suggestions?

  • Lynne Hendricks Green

    Tac light glasses, suggestion- since many people have a variety of vision issues, some people wear eye glasses, need to produce the ‘clip on’ tac lite eye wear, to attach to their eye glasses. This would increase sales and improve marketing to all the public. 10/5/2017.

  • HadenMcDaniel

    The problem with any cool “sunglasses” like Tac Glasses is that if you wear prescription eyewear, you’re pretty much SOL, that is, UNLESS they sell a wraparound version to fit over prescription lenses. Any chance of that happening? Would be nice!

  • RichSpirit

    I have spent many nights googling reviews on countless as seen on TV products over the years. I probably have looked up over sixty products and virtually every single one has received two Stars out of five or less!!

    Most have reported either A POS product, crappy and rude customer service, credit card scams with cards being double billed or billed way in excess of what it should have been, etc.

    After hearing many disaster stories from people decades ago and the scores is reviews I’ve seen, I’ll Never order shit from TV ever… And I recommend you don’t either.

    • Thomas Horbach

      Rich.. I agree with you 100%, I would also like to add that when they say “if you order today we will “DOUBLE” your offer all you need to do is pay is shipping & handling and processing fee ” I’ve discovered that When you opt for the buy one get one free, it ends up where instead of paying $19.95 + s/h and say your total should be $22.99, your bill is now $44.99, and you never know any of this until you go to check out and enter your payment info. And see that the bill has doubled.
      After SEVERAL idiotic mistakes I realized that it imperative that you read the “Terms & & Agreements” for everything online

      • Thomas Carey

        You forgot to say, that once you call in to order they want to sell you or upgrade for extra money of course. Another deluxe model with blue lenses excetera excetera which is an upgrade of the original brand For $19.99.
        they don’t tell you that on their advertisement that’s the one they’re advertising but you’re not getting that pair of glasses….. we are getting an ordinary cheap pair of non polarized junk glasses.
        Before you buy as seen on TV do the research. By proving brands, they May cost a little more, but you’re getting what you pay for and they back their product 100%……

  • Donna Vesely

    Excellent review. Thank you.

  • Ed

    Finally received TAC glasses yesterday, after waiting 6 weeks since ordered. What a waste! Cheap plastic and flimsy. The ‘one mold fits all noses’ style is hard and uncomfortable. Had to pay to ship them back so lost over $3.00 just to try them for a few minutes. Definitely a case of slick advertising that will reel in enough who don’t go the trouble to package and return. DO NOT BE FOOLED – they are junk!

  • Joy Summers

    I finally got my pair, was really thinking they were not coming. Like someone else said takes both hands to get on which is hard when your driving. I considered sending them back since they don’t fit well over my glasses which I had hoped they would. But they were a life saver driving west facing the sun the other evening although I did have to wear them without my regular glasses. Thank the Good Lord for getting safe down the road wearing the tac glasses.

  • andrea

    TAC glasses implying ‘tactical’. really the cheapest kind of polarization of sunglasses. Sunglasses with these cheaper polarized lenses, called TAC lenses, are likely to be found in dollar stores and gas stations, and equally as likely to give you headaches.

    So got to your local corner store, dollar store or gas station and spend $10.00, no shipping or handling fees either.

  • hgunwilltravel2

    Junk. False advertising the company should have a class suit file against them.

  • John Bucknell

    This has been the worse experience I have ever had with an order. My order was placed around 9/26/17 and put on label created 9/28/17 as the anticipated ship date but never sent. I called 10/13 and the customer service lady apologized and said she would reorder the glasses. I called back a week later and was told they were on back order with no expected shipping date. After not getting them for my vacation, being told they were being resent and then told they were on back order I told her to cancel the order. I have worked for multiple customer service companies and most would try to keep an order not just let one cancel. I think other people on social media should see how the company is really run.

  • John Bucknell

    Tac Glasses
    This has been the worse experience I have ever had with an order. My order was placed around 9/26/17 and put on label created 9/28/17 as the anticipated ship date but never sent. I called 10/13 and the customer service lady apologized and said she would reorder the glasses. I called back a week later and was told they were on back order with no expected shipping date. After not getting them for my vacation, being told they were being resent and then told they were on back order I told her to cancel the order. I have worked for multiple customer service companies and most would try to keep an order not just let one cancel. I think other people on social media should see how the company is really run.

  • Jon

    It is the through the not so clean windshield, driving towards the Sun blackout that I am trying to find a solution to…I don’t know if these would help that or not?

    • R A Walton

      Maui Jim is ALL I have to say. Just do it. You’ll NEVER be disappointed!!!!

  • Joe Haley

    I ordered these glasses on Oct. 15, 2017. I was charged on AMEX on Nov 2. Have not received them. Called them and was informed th y were lost in mail. This is
    doubtful. Lady said they work led resend and they should l be her in Approx. 7 or
    8 days. Unbelilab