Site Overlay

HD Mirror Cam Review: Rear View Mirror Dash cam

HD Mirror Cam is a dash cam built into a rear view mirror. Does it work? Read our HD Mirror Cam review.

Sponsored Links

About HD Mirror Cam

HD Mirror Cam is a rear view mirror with a built-in dash cam. It attaches to your existing rear view mirror in seconds. The product website is hdmirrorcam.com, which was registered in November 2015. The screen captures below show the official website in February 2016 and the redesigned website in March 2017.

hd mirror cam review
The original HD Mirror Cam website, February 2016.
hd mirror cam website
Redesigned HD Mirror Cam website, March 2017.

What They Claim

  • Motion detection and night vision modes
  • 2.5 inch LCD screen
  • Rechargeable
  • Loop recording
  • 720p and VGA modes
  • Anti-glare
  • Up to 14 hours of video
  • Micro SD cards up to 32 gig supported
  • Includes a “starter” 8 gig micro SD card
  • Can be rotated 350 degrees
  • Attaches to any rear view mirror
  • Playback on the unit, or on a computer

HD Mirror Cam Cost

If you order from the official website, HD Mirror Cam costs $49.99 plus $9.99 P&H.  In March 2017, I found HD Mirror Cam at a local As Seen on TV store in Las Vegas for $50.

HD Mirror Cam Review

With the rise of personal dash cams, As Seen on TV marketers have started to jump on the bandwagon. First we had DashCam Pro which hit the airwaves in late 2015, and HD Mirror Cam followed soon thereafter. Although it has been out for over a year, HD Mirror Cam began heavily marketing in early 2017.

Sponsored Links

HD Mirror Cam sports a different design than DashCam Pro, which is a standalone unit. That item attaches to the windshield, although some consumers wondered if such a configuration would set them up for an “obstructed view” ticket. With HD Mirror Cam, there is no such problem, as the camera is mounted on the rear view mirror. The unit is a mirror and camera which attach to your existing mirror via two straps. HD Mirror Cam resembles such products as the Falcon Zero Dash Cam, which looks and performs similarly, but that item offers 1080p and a few other features not found with HD Mirror Cam.

I found that installation was extremely simple. You merely plug it into your 12 volt outlet, strap over your rear view mirror, insert the included SD card, and it should work. HD Mirror Cam will automatically begin recording when you start your car, and it should turn off when you turn off your car. There are night/day modes, although I found virtually no difference between the two while filming at night.

hd mirror cam review
HD Mirror Cam just after unboxing.
hd mirror cam review
Daytime screen shot from HD Mirror Cam at 720p.
hd mirror cam review
Nighttime screen capture from HD Mirror Cam.
hd mirror cam review
HD Mirror Cam installed and in action.

Video quality is probably the area that will be the biggest point of contention for those who are not satisfied, as it’s not very impressive. One would think 720p should be sufficient, but it looks rather low quality during the day, and even worse at night, as you can see in the photos above.

That said, it does record the action in your car with very little effort, so while you may not capture license plate numbers, you capture any activity in your area on video. The camera can be swiveled, which means Uber or Lyft drivers can point it to the back seat to keep an eye on what their passengers are doing.

HD Mirror Cam records video in lengths of 1, 3, or 5 minutes, and in AVI format. Thus, if you took a 20 minute drive, for example, and chose the 5 minute option, you would have four 5-minute files recorded onto your SD card.

I had little problems with the installation and function of HD Mirror Cam. I was a bit disappointed with the video quality, but I will keep using it, at least until I review a better item in this category.

Video Review

Below is my full video review of HD Mirror Cam.

Your HD Mirror Cam Reviews

Have you used HD Mirror Cam ? Give us your review by leaving a comment below and a star rating above.

Updated March 2017.

Author: James White

James White is based in Las Vegas, Nevada, and has been reviewing strange gadgets since 2011. He also runs the successful "Freakin' Reviews" YouTube channel.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
2 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Jeannine Pettett Armato
Jeannine Pettett Armato
2 years ago

I am a woman Uber Lyft driver. I want to feel safe when driving strangers around. This will suit my needs greatly!!!!!

Frank Giordano
Frank Giordano
5 months ago

Recieved new Mirror cam,did not work out of the box.Returned ,sent new one after following up.Did not work out of the box again. Called was told i had to pay postage to return for a third one or refund.Why?I havnt even used the product one day. Not a good experience .