egg pod

Egg Pod Review: Microwaved Hard Boiled Eggs?

Egg Pod is a device that allows you to make four hard boiled eggs in the microwave. Does it really work? Here is my Egg Pod review.

Sponsored Links

Where to Purchase

There are three primary places where Egg Pod can be purchased. You can find it on Amazon for about $20, or in some stores in the As Seen on TV aisle for about $15-$20. The official website is tryeggpod.com where it currently costs $19.99 + $6.95 shipping.

About Egg Pod

Egg Pod is an egg-shaped plastic device with an aluminum interior that allows you to cook and partially peel hard boiled eggs all in the same unit. The official product website is tryeggpod.com, which has been advertising throughout the first half of 2020.

Claims & Features

  • Cooks and peels hard boiled eggs
  • Microwave use only
  • Space saving design
  • BPA free plastic

Egg Pod Review

The As Seen on TV industry seems to have an obsession with egg gadgets, going back decades, and for reasons I can only imagine. Today I’m taking a look at the Egg Pod, which is a small egg-shaped device that allows you to produce four easy-to-peel hard-boiled eggs

Using Egg Pod is rather straightforward. Insert four eggs, add 50ml of water (with the supplied measuring cup), microwave for about 9 minutes, let sit for 2 minutes, run under cool water for 2 minutes, vigorously shake the Egg Pod (with water still in the unit), and you should have four easy-to-peel hard boiled eggs. The only step that didn’t go smoothly for me was the shaking, which is said to require 10 shakes in the instructions. I found that quite a bit more shaking was needed in order to loosen the peels.

Egg Pod holds four eggs.
Vigorous shaking of the unit helps peel the eggs.
The results of shaking the Egg Pod, which allows eggs to be easily peeled.
The final result: A perfectly hard-boiled egg.

The official Egg Pod website states, that the “unique design peels cooked eggs for you in seconds.” It could be a minor point, but I take a little issue with this wording which could be interpreted to mean that the device does the peeling for you, but that is not the case. You still have to peel the eggs yourself, but the vigorous shaking in the water is a proven technique to help separate the egg from the shell. There are even products dedicated to this technique, such as The Negg. I should also note that the vigorous shaking did result in water leaking out of the sides (even though the unit was locked). I don’t think that is a deal breaker, but you may want to keep that in mind on your first use so you can be ready!

Overall I found the Egg Pod to work as advertised, and the instructions seemed to be accurate. The eggs that I “boiled” in the unit turned out as well as I would expect with other methods. Taste and texture were indistinguishable from traditional hard boiling methods. I would caution that different types of eggs and microwaves of varying power could affect your results, but in my case the eggs turned out when the instructions were followed to the letter.

Sponsored Links

There is, of course, the argument that such a device may not be necessary at all. Spending 13 minutes cooking and cooling does not seem much faster than boiling a pot of water in which you can cook a dozen or more eggs at once, and you also don’t need a dedicated single-use device for that method. Egg Pod also limits you to only four eggs at a time, and there were no instructions how to cook less than four eggs – so that might take some trial and error to get right.

I do think the Egg Pod works, although I’m not convinced it is necessary.

Alternatives

Among the seemingly countless egg gadgets I have reviewed over the years, I would recommend the Copper Chef Perfect Egg Maker as a viable alternative to the Egg Pod. It sports a similar shape, although it can hold 14 eggs and is a standalone unit, meaning you don’t even need a microwave. That item costs roughly the same as Egg Pod, depending on where you get it. You can also see my full review of that item above.

Your Egg Pod Reviews

Have you used Egg Pod or a similar item? Tell me what you think in the comments below.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
22 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Jake
Jake
3 years ago

You mentioned in the video that you’ve previously reviewed Poach Pods, but I wasn’t able to locate your review on Youtube or on this website.

Freakin' Reviews
Admin
3 years ago
Reply to  Jake

Hey Jake, you can find the Poach Pods covered in this video: https://youtu.be/mfaWAtoo2U4

Joann Forbes
Joann Forbes
3 years ago

We used the egg pod for a special occasion and found it to be anything but functional! After following all directions to the letter, we placed the egg pod and 4 eggs in the microwave with the designated amount of water from the measuring cup provided. After approx. 7 minutes, we heard a suspicious noise, opened the microwave to see the device had burst, the interior was covered with burst eggs. Took forever to clean the microwave and it was impossible to peel the eggs as whites and yolk had burst with the yolks impossibly adhered to the whites in… Read more »

Kath6
Kath6
3 years ago

The egg pod is not worth its weight on plastic.

Dennise Anderson
Dennise Anderson
2 years ago
Reply to  Kath6

Absolutely love my Egg Pod. Use it at least once a week for sandwiches and devilled eggs. So easy to use.

Marilyn Fetters
Marilyn Fetters
3 years ago

Can you cook only 2 eggs?

Adele Brown
Adele Brown
2 years ago

It doesn’t even hold one egg. It’s a piece of trash. They should be asham d of themselves selling that piece of junk. Very disappointed! Smh!!

Gayel
Gayel
3 years ago

I think it’s just taking Laziness to a Whole different Level. I wouldn’t waste my Money on buying one.

Sandra murrhee
Sandra murrhee
2 years ago

Love my egg pod works great.

D1nonlysnshn
D1nonlysnshn
2 years ago

Got here bcs I saw egg pod advertised and wanted to know if it really works. Like your copper chef egg cooker review. I have found a fairly simple way of cooking eggs online that also peel very well…only required eggs covered with cold water in pot, bring to boil, turn off water, let stand for 15 min for hard boiled and 10 min for soft boiled, pour out hot and fill with cold water, peel.
My biggest issue with either gadget: another single-use item taking up space in my kitchen.

MFD
MFD
2 years ago

The egg pod works great! Doesn’t take up that much room in the kitchen. Saves on electricity – microwaving saves on electricity bill as does using a toaster oven.

Lois P
Lois P
2 years ago

I cooked 2 eggs using the instructions as is and my 2 eggs came out perfect. This was my first time to use the EggPod. I shook just a tiny bit & was easy to get the shells off.

Gloria J
Gloria J
1 year ago
Reply to  Lois P

I also did 2 eggs. Cooked them for 7 min instead of 9 and they came out perfect. Shook it a little too much and ended up with too many cracks in the eggshell, but it still came off easy. Helpful for those of us with hand disabilities.

David Ansell
David Ansell
2 years ago

LOVE my egg pod! Mine is supposed to hold 4 eggs but you can place another one in the middle and cook 5. Do the shells fall off as easily as they show in the commercial? Well, NO, but they still come off pretty easily— much more easy than any other method I’ve ever tried— so —-this thing is definitely worthwhile!

Val
Val
2 years ago

I’ve had a lot of luck with it cooking anywhere from 2 to 4 eggs.
I bring it to work to make my breakfast before I start the booty crack o dawn shift and thankfully I dont fill up the kitchen with heavy egg odour.
Boiling a pot of water is a lil tricky without a stove and carrying my egg pod to n from work is a much less delicate and messy then trying other microwave methods.
So to me it’s great but it really depends on the person and their circumstances 🙂

Mike McCullough
Mike McCullough
2 years ago

I ordered eggpod 2 months ago, IT NEVER CAME!!! How do I go about getting my money back?

Michele Lail
Michele Lail
2 years ago

Mine blew up in the microwave after 2 minutes

Nancy
Nancy
2 years ago

After peeling eggs they had a metal taste to them. Did anyone else have this happen?

Don
Don
1 year ago

I just recently purchased this eggpod for my wife. She followed the directions to the T. I was sitting at my computer when I heard the microwave making a weird sound. Plus I smelled the microwave and it just didn’t seem right. After that my microwave didn’t work anymore. After looking at the product I noticed it that on the inside it was coated in metal. You never put metal in a microwave, it will cause arcing and then there goes the microwave. Tried to make a complaint, but couldn’t find an email address to make a complaint. I have… Read more »

Kenneth
Kenneth
1 year ago

i bought the egg pod and it has been GOD SEND. Greatest thing since sliced bread. regret not buying several at one time. Use it everyday. Love this thing !!!!

Aaron
Aaron
5 months ago

Functions well at hard boiling the eggs, but in my experience it does not leave them easy to peel AT ALL.

About 1/4 of the eggs I treat this way wind up nuked so badly I pitch them in the trash! major part of the white peeled away with the shell, and that’s following instructions to the letter.

Looking for a hard boiled egg peeler as a separate device that does a decent job.