Hurricane Spin Scrubber Review: Does it Work?

Hurricane Spin Scrubber is a cordless power scrubber which takes the hard work out of scrubbing. Read our Hurricane Spin Scrubber review.

Sponsored Links




About Hurricane Spin Scrubber

Hurricane Spin Scrubber is a power scrubber which “does the work for you.” The official product website is spinscrubber.com, which was registered in March 2016. Originally, the domain hurricanespinscrubber.com was used, but that now forwards to spinscrubber.com. The screen capture below shows the official website as it appeared in July 2016.

hurricane spin scrubber review

Claims & Features

  • Cordless, rechargeable power scrubber
  • 300 scrubs per minute
  • Doesn’t use abrasive chemicals
  • Indoor or outdoor
  • Works on soap scum, mildew, grime, or dirt
  • Bristles fit into cracks and crevices

Cost

Hurricane Spin Scrubber costs $39.99 + $9.99 shipping. You can add a second unit for another $19.99. This brings your total to $49.98 for one, or $69.97 for two.

We found it at a local Bed Bath & Beyond for $39.99.

Hurricane Spin Scrubber Review

Most As Seen on TV aficionados clearly recall the Hurricane Spin Mop which heavily advertised on television for nearly two years. Now the brand is back with another spinning cleaner, the Hurricane Spin Scrubber.

With this product, we have an electronic scrubber that is designed to take the hard work out of cleaning the bathroom. Its 300 “scrubs per minute” spinning action is powered by a rechargeable NiCad battery. Although our tests found that a competitor (see below) outperformed Hurricane Spin Scrubber in some basic battery tests, a representative explained that the decision to go with a NiCad battery over an NiMh battery was to avoid potential overheating issues found with NiMh batteries, which could potentially damage the unit. Thus, there could be a slight tradeoff in performance for what the company considers a more stable battery.

Using Hurricane Spin Scrubber is as easy as attaching your desired brush head and pressing a button. The spinning action at the end of the handle can be used to clean a variety of bathroom surfaces with far greater ease than scrubbing manually.

Sponsored Links




Hurricane Spin Scrubber features flexible bristles which can get into cracks and small crevices in order to help break up dirt and grime. You will probably have to apply some pressure to facilitate the cleaning process, although you shouldn’t expect to press as hard as you might with an old-fashioned hand-held scrubber. In fact, you’ll want to apply some pressure or the head may bounce as it spins against the surface.

hurricane spin scrubber with extension handle
Hurricane Spin Scrubber with extension handle.
Hurricane Spin Scrubber dome brush
The dome brush is the most versatile of the three brushes included with Hurricane Spin Scrubber.

This device is better suited for some cleaning jobs than others. Mildew may still be problematic even when using this scrubber, but dirt and soap scum are easily removed. Overall, my tests found that the Hurricane Spin Scrubber removed most buildup rather efficiently.

The handle and extension arms allow you flexibility to work efficiently in a variety of spaces. It’s not just beneficial to those suffering from arthritis (as the website notes), but those with knee or back problems who find traditional scrubbing to be difficult. My wife and I disagreed as to whether the handle was useful or not. I found it to be “wobbly” while she preferred the additional length. I do like the addition of a special corner brush which helps tackle those problematic areas. That brush, however, was the fastest to fray of the bunch.

It will take a full 20 hours the first time you charge it, and then 8 hours per charge after that. Each charge should give you about an hour of cleaning time. I’ve had a few comments on YouTube that stated the red light stayed on past the 20-hour charge window. If that happens, you should be able to unplug it and use it as normal, and then charge for 8 hours after that.

The television offer gives you an opportunity to buy two, although one unit should be sufficient for most consumers.

Overall, I like the Hurricane Spin Scrubber, as it makes bending and scrubbing easier, and who wouldn’t want that? If you have realistic expectations, you’ll probably find this to be a helpful tool that you’ll use regularly.

Now that it’s widely available in stores, I recommend picking it up locally to avoid excess shipping times and costs.

Alternatives

As much as I like the Hurricane Spin Scrubber, it is only fair to point out that its design is very close to the Tub N’ Tile Power Scrubber by Quickie. The similarities are so stark that it may not be unreasonable to call the Hurricane Scrubber a knockoff of the Quickie product.

That item features regular scrubbing brushes and corner brushes that look nearly identical to Hurricane’s brushes. The Quickie scrubber currently holds a solid 4 star rating on Amazon. You can find the Quickie scrubber – and replacement brushes – in some stores such as Lowe’s or Walmart.

Turbo Scrub and Clorox Scrubtastic are other power scrubbers that seem to borrow somewhat from the Quickie design. Read my Turbo Scrub review here, or my Clorox Scrubtastic review here.

My Video Reviews

Watch my video review and demonstration in the video below.

You can also see a head-to-head comparison of Hurricane Spin Scrubber and Turbo Scrub.

Your Hurricane Spin Scrubber Reviews

If you’ve used Hurricane Spin Scrubber, tell us what you thought by leaving a comment below and a star rating above.

Updated May 2017.

James White
James White is based in Las Vegas, Nevada, and has been reviewing strange gadgets since 2011. He also runs the successful "Freakin' Reviews" YouTube channel.

28 COMMENTS

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
28 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
annieside
annieside
3 years ago

This video doesn’t show much change on the shower glass and I didn’t see an improvement on the grout on the floor. My conclusion is that on a clean bathroom, it works great as seen in the commercial, in a dirty bathroom as shown in this video, not so much. At that rate, you would need way more than an hour’s charge to clean the bathroom thoroughly and would have to wait another day to complete. Just my observation.

Laura Graves
Laura Graves
3 years ago

This thing is a total waste of money. It doesn’t ‘scrub’ anything. If you try to add any sort of pressure it slows down to nearly a stop. I thought maybe it wasn’t charged up enough, so plugged it in for several hours. Still bad. Taking it back today for a refund. Don’t buy this product.

Starkeraving
Starkeraving
3 years ago
Reply to  Laura Graves

TY your review answered my main question. i was concerned about the actual power of a battery operated scrubber,

swatter
swatter
3 years ago
Reply to  Starkeraving

I thought as such…

swatter
swatter
3 years ago
Reply to  swatter

Not enough power like some cheap weed trimmers

Hln Fitch
Hln Fitch
3 years ago
Reply to  Starkeraving

I have only had mine for a day so I can’t really give an honest opinion but have tried it out on the door tracks. (Which is one of the reasons I bought it.) worked reasonably well, but nothing like they show you on the TV. some wiping would be needed. I will report further as I get used to the spinning.. Oh for the life of me I cannot get the flat brush to attach, any one else have that problem…

bob
bob
3 years ago
Reply to  Hln Fitch

Y E S. It (the larger flat brush) has a different mounting profile.

Hln Fitch
Hln Fitch
3 years ago
Reply to  Hln Fitch

have used it now on the same charge for around a month, it is good for what I wanted it for. Just the door tracks and in corners where the mop doesn’t get to. so far it’s a winner.. Oh my knees are stuffed so I find it good to be able to stand and get to the se places.. Not as great as they advertise specially for the price.

Kelly Novak Tobuck
Kelly Novak Tobuck
2 years ago
Reply to  Hln Fitch

I am having a problem getting the corner scrubber off. I have tried all different ways. Very frustrating. The flat brush came right off. I am in love with this product, saw real results! If only I could get this brush off

Karlly
Karlly
3 years ago
Reply to  Laura Graves

Thanks for your review. I’ll pass on buying this…

Moose and Squirrel
Moose and Squirrel
3 years ago
Reply to  Laura Graves

I noticed during checkout (bought directly from them) that they offered a “professional” motor (aka “the one that doesn’t $uck”) for an extra $10.

I also noted that the stick where the battery is and the transformer were very warm after 24 hours of charging, so their advice to leave it on the charger is probably bad. Looks like it doesn’t stop once the battery is fully charged.

TruthOrConsequences
TruthOrConsequences
3 years ago

I would have liked this review better if I had seen the before and after on those surfaces that were cleaned. I came away not knowing if it had worked or not.

cfbcfb
cfbcfb
3 years ago

Do not buy from this company, they represent a bunch of telemarketing businesses. You will get numerous calls trying to sell you jewelry and other crap. They also use that “Can you hear me?” scam where they record your “yes” response and say they had your agreement to send you stuff. Run away.

Viola Wahnon
Viola Wahnon
3 years ago

Waste of money! Doesn’t run for 60 min. Runs about 20 min. so work fast. Lol And yes I charged it for the recommended 20 hrs. Also awkward to use.

Hln Fitch
Hln Fitch
3 years ago
Reply to  Viola Wahnon

didn’t find that with mine

Fay Moskovitz Bayuk
Fay Moskovitz Bayuk
3 years ago

I love my spin scrubber. Do the folks who have pro blems spray the surfaces first with Tilex etc. Also the brushes wear out.

Michelle
Michelle
3 years ago

Can you use turbo scrub in the toilet

Hln Fitch
Hln Fitch
3 years ago
Reply to  Michelle

I haven’t yet but I am gonna give it a go..

Mike Arnold
Mike Arnold
3 years ago

Not especially great…… any pressure you may use to do the scrubbing and the spin brush slows down. Of course you see the ad and think it powers its way through dirt and grime. Well that is the job of the “cleaner” you are using, in reality. I have a regular scrub brush that is as easy to use, AND…… I can use as much pressure in scrubbing as I want. Waste of money to Bed Bath and Beyond……..

Marcia Holt
Marcia Holt
3 years ago

Unless your home is squeaky clean to begin with, don’t bother to buy one as it will be a waste of your money. I tried it out on one half of an old dirty bathtub. After an hour of scrubbing,while it cleaned it a bit, it was not what I would have expected. I wanted to see if it was just the filth of the tub preventing the spin scrubber from doing its job, so I grabbed an Scotch soft scrub sponge, and using the same cleaning product I was using with the spin scrubber; with a little effort and… Read more »

Jake
Jake
2 years ago
Reply to  Marcia Holt

I am not surprised at your results this is for a normal clean of things not for near enough restoration.

Brenda Porter
Brenda Porter
3 years ago

I got mine on Sunday, 2 days ago, from Bed, Bath & Beyond with the 20% off so $33 and to me was well worth it!!! I was looking to replace my shower door last week but said I would try this first….and I’m very impressed!!! the corner brush did wonders on the track and in the corners inside and outside of the shower door!! and even in the corner on the floor where the white tile meets the shower door it got all of the built up dirt, scum or whatever it was! and it did all of that… Read more »

Living_Commentator
Living_Commentator
2 years ago

Do they still sell it with a NiCad battery in 2017? I mean NiCads are so outdated and are hardly to be found anywhere today.

Gloria Burdick
Gloria Burdick
2 years ago

After my third use the battery was dead and would not charge anymore. A waste of money.

Bonita Kale
Bonita Kale
2 years ago

Loved it for several months, but now the battery doesn’t seem to be providing any torque. It’s fully charged, but just goes slowly or off. Pity, because I loved it for my large shower; the half-sphere brush really got mildew out of the crack around the bottom.

Oh, I always used spray-on stuff and let it sit a bit. And I started with a pretty new shower. So–easy work, but not with my bad knees.

John
John
2 years ago

While in a Wal-Mart I saw the Hurricane Spin Scrubber and thought I would give it a try. I read the directions about charging for 20 hours. After 27 hours I gave it a try. Nothing. And I mean NOTHING. The red light kept flashing the entire time. The on/off button was off and everything was connected correctly. What more can be said but rubbish. This was just as well. Because I read about another scrubber Called Turbo Scrub and the Turbo Scrub Pro. The latter more expensive by $20.00. Both charges in about 2 hours and runs for 90… Read more »

Matthew Grozier
Matthew Grozier
2 years ago

“Hey Guys.. Just thought I would say this brush is Awesome..
Its not for major cleaning or build up.. Is for lights scrubbing mostly..
Either way well worth the money spent..”
” Here is where I got mine.. ” http://bit.ly/2nppWri

Adelina Gateley
Adelina Gateley
4 months ago

This thing is a total waste of money. It doesn’t ‘scrub’ anything. I bought 2 of this, have not use it for a long time coz I’m using the drill type, when I tried to use it I’ve notice that If you try to add any sort of pressure it slows down to nearly a stop. I thought maybe it wasn’t charged up enough, so plugged it in for several hours. Still bad.. After 3 uses it just stop working.

Giveaway

Sponsored

Popular

WowBacon Review: Does This Bizarre Bacon Cooker Work?

WowBacon is an unusual-looking bacon cooking device for the microwave. Today I offer my full review of WowBacon after giving it a try myself. Where...

Prep Solutions Microwave S’mores Maker Review

Today I'm taking a look at a microwave s'mores maker by Prep Solutions to see if it really works. This is a supplement to...

Mighty Sight Review: Do They Work?

Mighty Sight is a pair of As Seen on TV magnifying reading glasses that have chargeable LED lights on each side. Do they really...

Granitestone Pro Series Pan Review

Today I'm taking a look at the new Pro Series pan from the Granitestone brand to see how it works and how it compares...

Ninja Foodi Grill Review After 6 Months!

Ninja Foodi Grill is a 5-in-1 indoor grill that uses cyclonic grilling technology. Does it really work? Here is my full review after using...