LOADING

Type to search

New Reviews

WowBacon Review: Does This Bizarre Bacon Cooker Work?

James White Jun 30

WowBacon is an unusual-looking bacon cooking device for the microwave. Today I offer my full review of WowBacon after giving it a try myself.

Sponsored Links

Where to Purchase

You can find WowBacon on Amazon for about $25. It can also be purchased direct from the official website (discussed below) for the same price.

The giveaway mentioned in my YouTube review of this product ended on July 8, 2020.

About WowBacon

WowBacon is a a microwave bacon cooker that includes racks onto which six slices of bacon are draped, and a large cup that prevents splatter and collects grease. The official product website is wowbacon.com, which was registered back in 2008.

Claims & Features

  • No grease burns
  • Cooks all types of bacon
  • No splatter

WowBacon Review

If there is one thing I have learned in my decade of reviewing products is that people love kitchen gadgets and they love bacon. Thus, anything that combines these two is determined to spark considerable interest.

WowBacon came across my radar in May 2020 and my initial thought was how strange looking it was. And in my world, strange is a good thing. I finally obtained a unit in June 2020 and put it to the test.

WowBacon isn’t a particularly complicated appliance, with a cup, rack, and lid comprising the detachable parts. I can tell, however, that there are nuances likely overlooked by the consumer that serve vital roles. The depth of the rack, for example, does not extend to the bottom of the cup. This, I believe, is to prevent grease from burning the rack itself. There are clips that keep the lid in place, along with a simple spin-to-lock mechanism that attaches the lid to the rack.

WowBacon consists of a lid, rack, and cup.

After washing the unit off, it was time for my first test. All that is required is to simply drape a slice of bacon over each of the 6 racks, attach the lid, and then insert them into the cup. I contacted the company with several questions related to this product and was reminded that attaching the rack to the lid was a vital step that some consumers (and reviewers) have missed. This omission can lead to damage to the unit, so be sure to do this if you decide to pick one up.

After inserting the lid/rack into the cup, you merely lock the lid and place it in the microwave. Microwave times will vary, but I went with the suggested starting point of four minutes for six slices.

Lowering bacon into the cup.

In my case, four minutes was just about right and the bacon turned out perfectly cooked to my taste. There was several ounces of grease collected at the bottom, which I dumped out (per the instructions) before trying another batch.

Bacon cooked in the WowBacon.

Next I wanted to try turkey bacon, but the company suggested I back the time off a little since it tends to cook faster. I tried three minutes, and it was cooked evenly, albeit still a bit flimsy.

For my third batch, I tried six more pieces of regular bacon, but increased the time to five minutes to see if I could get an even crispier batch. It wasn’t significantly crispier, but there was a discernible difference between four and five minutes.

Sponsored Links

After completing my video review, I cooked several more batches of regular and turkey bacon, and found that I liked my turkey bacon cooked a little longer than what is shown in the video.

Overall, I have been satisfied with WowBacon’s performance. I realize that there are numerous schools of thought regarding bacon and what constitutes the perfect batch. While six pieces at a time may not be enough for some people, I do feel that the majority of consumers can achieve an acceptable end result with this product.

Be sure to check out my full WowBacon review below.

Alternatives

I’ve reviewed my share of bacon devices, and admittedly none are quite like WowBacon. There have, however, been a few with similar features such as the Bacon Wave, which cooks more slices, but takes more prep to set up and also creates splatter. Here is another effective bacon cooker, which works well but also doesn’t prevent splatter like the WowBacon.

Your WowBacon Reviews

Have you used WowBacon or something like it? Tell me what you think in the comments below.

Tags:
James White

James White is based in Las Vegas, Nevada, and has been reviewing strange gadgets since 2011. He also runs the successful "Freakin' Reviews" YouTube channel.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
88 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Gary Santone
Gary Santone
1 month ago

I love bacon in the microwave but hate the paper towel clean up. I will consider buying this based on your review. Thanx

Linda
Linda
1 month ago

Loved the demo. Going to get a family member one for Christmas. One thing I’d love to see tested is microwave coffee makers. I’ve looked back over your old video’s and hadn’t seen that done.

teresa
teresa
1 month ago

Love your videos

janet vaughan
janet vaughan
1 month ago

I love bacon would love to try that

Benjamin mason
Benjamin mason
1 month ago

How do I win this? Ps been watching you from the first day, even my two boys watch with me, my 5 year old would say when watching, daddy we need this lol keep the bids coming and keep up the hard work,

Last edited 1 month ago by Benjamin mason
Erin Mayer
Erin Mayer
1 month ago

Love the review, I have a heard if kids and quick ways to make food is always a good thing. Thank you for the review

Elisa Aideth Vidana
Elisa Aideth Vidana
1 month ago

Thank you for this review. Now I am craving bacon. I hope who ever win will enjoy this product. Greeting from North Las Vegas.

Theresa
Theresa
1 month ago

I love bacon I mostly use it in the microwave but the cleanup is hell but thinking about purchasing this due to your review

Phil Murtagh
Phil Murtagh
1 month ago

I love bacon but hate the mess. This looks like the perfect bacon cooker for me. Thanks for the review as I had not seen it before.

Johnny P DUNDULIS
Johnny P DUNDULIS
1 month ago

I might buy that thank you πŸ‘πŸ‘

Edward O'Conor
Edward O'Conor
1 month ago

Love the bacon maker.

Big Daddy
Big Daddy
1 month ago

Hey James,

Can I get a shoutout in the next video?

Thanks,

Big Daddy

Big Daddy
Big Daddy
1 month ago
Reply to  James White

Hell yeah and my gf Ariella. Pronounced air-re-ella. We watch your videos together, always to the end. She would get a kick out of it!

Jenna Nicely
Jenna Nicely
1 month ago
Reply to  James White

Big daddy for the win!!

NICOLE
NICOLE
1 month ago

Watching all the way from the Caribbean island of Trinidad and Tobago..would love the bacon cooker

Tig
Tig
1 month ago

I love bacon either in the oven or microwave, love it but hate all the grease, this looks like a great solution

Brian 1Gutschmidt
Brian 1Gutschmidt
1 month ago

You are my go to gadget reviewer. I got the life fuel bottle after seeing your review I love it thanks man

Chris
Chris
1 month ago

I am gonna get one love your videos

JoAnn
JoAnn
1 month ago

Really enjoying your reviews! I’m finding myself checking to see if you have a review before I buy things now! This looks like a great product so that it doesn’t splatter all over! I hope it is dishwasher safe! Thank you for your reviews! You do a great, fair, thorough reviews every time. Thank you!

Jan Wilkinson
Jan Wilkinson
1 month ago

Bacon! I want to try this because I hate the mess of pan frying and other microwave cookers. Thanks!

Judith Yundt
Judith Yundt
1 month ago

Looks good I would do 5 minutes I like crispy bacon if I am winner

Sari Nichols
Sari Nichols
1 month ago

I enjoyed the review. It is a product I would use. By the way, I only like turkey bacon when it’s baked wrapped around a date.

Tom Nelson
Tom Nelson
1 month ago

Love your channel thanks for the gadget reviews!

Ken
Ken
1 month ago

Wow Bacon looks like big, big WIN, to me. This might be the first review I’ve watched that I want own the product.

Thanks for this and all the great reviews. Always enjoyable.

Joseph Hook
Joseph Hook
1 month ago

You rant need to try the Emson Wave, Microwave Bacon Cooker.. My mother gave me one for Christmas a few years back, easiest way to cook a larger batch of bacon in the microwave. It’s amazing.

Daniel Pineda
Daniel Pineda
1 month ago

Very thorough and fun video, I think cooking bacon with less grease is always a winner so I will definitely think of this for a future purchase, you also provide alternatives I’d say your better than amazon lol

Rivers
Rivers
1 month ago

I absolutely love your reviews!! I was on the fence about getting one but I trust your process so much that I’ve decided I really do want one.

Sherice
Sherice
1 month ago

Great review- will definitely look into. Buying this & other products you have recommended. The hubby & I watch you all the time & absolutely love your channel!

Lauren
Lauren
1 month ago

Me husband and I watch all your videos as if your a tv show lol. We travel to Vegas every year love it there. Keep up the honest genuine reviews

Shelley Lemmond
Shelley Lemmond
1 month ago

I love it. I actually like the 4 and 5 minutes. I also love Turkey bacon. That is a really awesome gadget πŸ˜€

Kevin Wooley
Kevin Wooley
1 month ago

Tasty bacon with easy clean up? That’s a win/ win in my book!
Love the videos, keep ’em coming!

Ron
Ron
1 month ago

I am definitely to look into this. Thanks!

Dennis L
Dennis L
1 month ago

I watched you review on the emson wave bacon and purchased one. I like that you can make like 12-14 slices at the time. But now the bottom of the tray is getting a bit messed up and the skewers are gone as I switched to bamboo sticks. I’m definitely going to try that wowbacon

Keep up the great work πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

Last edited 1 month ago by Dennis L
Ulises Amaro
Ulises Amaro
1 month ago

I find it annoying making bacon on the side, especially when making a big breakfast (eggs, sausage, toast, potatoes). The idea of sticking it in the microwave and forgetting about it is great!

Craig Dixon
Craig Dixon
1 month ago

Hey, I’ve been watching for about maybe three years now. I like kitchen gadget. I used to work at Bed, Bath and Beyond. I used to love to see all those as seen on TV products come in and I always thought, hey I should go on YouTube review them, but unfortunately, I never did. So I am very happy to see you actually did it. I want you to keep up the great work, love the reviews. The only think I wish you do more videos on reading subscribers comments like you did about a year ago. Keep up… Read more »

Chris
Chris
1 month ago

Great review as always! Checking this one out as I’m about to start my Keto diet!

JaK
JaK
1 month ago

Looks great. I love the “no splatter” concept and the cooker itself looks relatively easy clean up

Jade
Jade
1 month ago

I world love to try this with my kids

dewguzzler
dewguzzler
1 month ago

Definitely want to buy one of these if I don’t win the giveaway!

Cindy Miranda
Cindy Miranda
1 month ago

I actually saw this on Vivian tries and bought it because I live by myself and I love bacon but I don’t want to break out of pan and when you cook in the microwave you have to deal with splatter and paper towels and stuff like that oh, so I bought one and then I ended up having to move for medical reasons and my niece threw mine away and I only had it for like a month or so πŸ™ and when I start to get an income again I will buy another one because I loved it… Read more »

Mandy Branch
Mandy Branch
1 month ago

Thanks for the review love watching your work James you are the only reviewer I watch. I just wish we could get half of what you review here in the UK.
I have entered (thank you for the comp) but I’d understand if you wouldn’t send to the UK if I won
😊 keep up the good work 😊

Mandy Branch
Mandy Branch
15 days ago
Reply to  James White

Compared to what’s on yours I get to the U.S I’m buying half of what’s on shelves!

Sean lardner
Sean lardner
1 month ago

My wife and I enjoyed this one a lot as we nuke bacon often! This solve a lot of the issues of the paper towel method! Thanks for another homer in review!

Jon Holy
Jon Holy
1 month ago

Looks like a great product!, not sure how UK bacon would hold up against it as it’s shaped differently. But would love to find out!

Bryan Hamilton
Bryan Hamilton
1 month ago

Thanks for testing for the crispy bacon! Also, you were the first YouTube channel I’ve subscribed to! Keep it up!

Cynthia Andrade
Cynthia Andrade
1 month ago

Watching the video made me want some bacon. Sad thing is I don’t have any right now.

Shaneca RenΓ©
Shaneca RenΓ©
1 month ago

Really enjoy watching your videos.. keep’em coming πŸ˜‰

Jenna Nicely
Jenna Nicely
1 month ago

Just found your channel!! My mom used to cook bacon in the microwave, but I just haven’t been able to bring myself to do it. However, after watching your video my mind may have been changed! Of course I entered, that folded bacon looked great for an egg sandwich. Great review!

Francine West
Francine West
1 month ago

I love watching your videos

Dee Vanderheiden
Dee Vanderheiden
1 month ago

I just found my Mother’s Christmas present. She has everything but lives bacon. Last year my Xmas present was to do odd jobs for her. Thank you James. Love your videos. You have kept me from wasting a LOT of money. Keep up the GREAT JOB!!!!

Bob Lyons
Bob Lyons
1 month ago

GOING TO TRY THIS OUT FOR MYSELF!

Hank Ciniglia
Hank Ciniglia
1 month ago

Thanks, James! Another great demo! Your review was enough for me to give it a try.