Mighty Sight Review: Do They Work?

Mighty Sight is a pair of As Seen on TV magnifying reading glasses that have chargeable LED lights on each side. Do they really work? Here is my Mighty Sight review.

Be sure to see my 2022 update below!

Sponsored Links

Where to Purchase

The best places to buy Mighty Sight are on Amazon (link) or in the As Seen on TV aisle of major retailers like Walmart. Both places sell the product for about $28-$30 and are ideal for returns if you don’t like it. You can also buy it from the official website (discussed below) for $27.98 ($19.99 + $6.99 S&H + $1 web service fee). There is an optional double offer for an additional fee of $6.99 which would bring the total to $34.97. Each order comes with a hard storage case and a USB charging cable.

Other items discussed here and in my video review below are Big Vision (link) and ThinOptics (link).

About Mighty Sight

Mighty Sight are a form of nonprescription eye-wear with lenses that magnify and built-in rechargeable LEDs. The official product website is buymightysight.com, which was registered in March 2018. The screenshot below shows how the product website looked in September 2019. As of this June 2020 update, the official website is still online and the product is still being marketed.

Mighty Sight Review

Claims & Features

  • Eyeglasses with LED lights
  • Magnifies vision by 160%
  • Decreases visual exhaustion and strain
  • Can be worn over prescription glasses
  • Fits everyone
  • Framework is bendable
  • Convenient and lightweight

Mighty Sight Review

Mighty Sight is an As Seen on TV pair of reading glasses with built-in LED lights. I picked them up at a local As Seen on TV store, although they are still being heavily advertised online. As I opened the Mighty Sight packaging, I realized that the carrying case advertised on the website did not come with my store-bought purchase. Instead, I received a carrying bag, which is not a deal-breaker, but I was slightly surprised. Then I proceeded to read the instructions which stated that the glasses should be worn on the tip of the nose instead of on the bridge of the nose. What I found interesting about this all the actors in the Mighty Sight commercial were wearing them on the bridge of their nose – which is incorrect per the instructions!

Sponsored Links

One of the first things I noticed about Mighty Sight is that they resemble the Big Vision Glasses that were advertised several years ago. Specifically, the frames are similar, the logos are in the same spot, and they both contain lenses with 160 magnification. In fact, the lenses themselves bore a stark resemblance. Thus, Mighty Sight appears to be more of an updated version of Big Vision with LED lights built into the frames, although that is purely speculation.

Mighty Sight (left) compared to Big Vision (right).

After opening the package, I placed the glasses on the tip of my nose to see how they felt. The magnification worked well as I attempted to read the instruction pamphlet. Using a vitamin bottle, I tested the range of the magnification which seemed to work the best between 6 to 12 inches. Somewhat surprisingly, the LED lights did make a positive difference. The button to activate the LEDs on the frames, however, is not well placed, and it is very easy to accidentally press while handling the glasses.

The charging port and on/off button for Mighty Sight.

As a brief experiment, I tried wearing the glasses on the bridge of my nose instead of the tip, and they appeared to work about the same. My next experiment was to wear them over a pair of prescription glasses. Mighty Sight barely fit over them, and the magnification seemed huge, but I had to hold the vitamin bottle closer to my face. Although they are said to work over prescription glasses, I tend to think wider frames may be problematic for Mighty Sight to cover.

Wearing Mighty Sight.

For my next experiment, I used the USB charger to fully charge the LEDs. Then I turned the LED lights on let to see how long they would last. After about three and a half hours, the LEDs were noticeably dimmer. At this point, I attempted to use the glasses to read a vitamin bottle in the dark, but I could not read the print on the bottle. After recharging the lights for about 30 minutes, I was able to read the print on the vitamin bottle in the dark using the fully-charged LED’s. The instructions do state that the LED’s should only provide about 3 hours of light, so that seemed accurate.

In conclusion, Mighty Sight is essentially a pair of 1.6x reading glasses with LEDs attached. Reading glasses are cheaper and less bulky, so the decision to purchase Mighty Sight mainly comes down to the decision of whether paying the price for the lighted feature is worth it or not.

You may want to read some of the Mighty Sight comments on Amazon for further opinions.

Relevant Videos

Below you can find my full review of Mighty Sight, and below that is my review of Big Vision from 2017.

Alternatives

For those seeking a solution for precise handiwork, you may want to look into this $15 headband magnifier. This $20 pair of lighted reading glasses is currently listed as an Amazon’s Choice, or you could always look into Big Vision, which is almost the same but without the light.

June 2022 Update

In June 2022, the frame for my Mighty Sight started to weaken, with one arm becoming loose. After a few more uses, the arm snapped and simply dangled from the rest of the glasses, as you can see in my tweet below.

This did not occur as a result of misuse or damage, but simply normal wear and tear with only moderate use.

Your Mighty Sight Reviews

Have you used  Mighty Sight or something like it? Leave a comment below and let me know what you think!

Updated June 2022.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
25 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Cartry Merritt
Cartry Merritt
2 years ago

I just bought a pair and they stopped working the light wouldn’t come on so I tried charging them but still don’t work that why i was hazardous to buy them

Ghislain blais
Ghislain blais
2 years ago

The most stupid thing I ever saw on tv dumb and stupid

D WOODHEAD
D WOODHEAD
2 years ago

TRIED TO PURCHASE ONLINE. ORDER FORM IS SET UP TO TAKE YOUR CREDIT CARD INFO FIRST AND ALTHO I SAID ‘NO’ TO ALL ADD-ONS MY END ORDER WAS NOT WHAT I ORDERED. I IMMEDIATELY CANCELLED THE ORDER. AFTER I FOUND YOUR REVIEW, I’M GLAD I DID.

john dean
john dean
2 years ago
Reply to  D WOODHEAD

Did they cancel your order???they added cost to mine and I canceled the order no replay tried to call them with no results never got to talk to anyone they are a rip off

Patricia
Patricia
2 years ago

I purchased a pair of these glasses and the ONLY thing I was disappointed about was the eye glass case. When I ordered the glasses it was said that they came with a hard shell eye glass case. Not true each order comes with a soft cloth eye glass case but the cloth case does have pockets to carry the glasses and the accessories. I LOVE THEM. They are great for any project you want to do, were you need your hands free and you want a bright light. They are great for car repairs, hand sewing, sewing using a… Read more »

Patricia
Patricia
2 years ago

These glasses are great. There are so many ideas for their use. You will find that this was one of the best purchases you ever made. I purchased several for family and friends, as gifts and everyone was extremely pleased after using them.

K Dill
K Dill
2 years ago

Comments by users in the commercial make me crazy…..the woman says she can now see “clear as a bell” which makes absolutely no sense!

john dean
john dean
2 years ago

Took the order charged me the wrong prices and no answer to phone calls 8 off them
RIP OFF !!

Mike
Mike
2 years ago

These people take your money, never deliver the product. When you call you better be on vacation all you get is a recording
all reps are busy and never take a call!! They have had my payment for a month and never deliver product. You can’t call
and complain as I have tried for over an hour each time with no one comes to the phone!! Nice racket nice scam !!! Don’t
buy from them or maybe they will deliver to your funeral years down the line!!!! Good luck if you do!!!

Janet w Slaughter
Janet w Slaughter
2 years ago
Reply to  Mike

Thanks for the feedback. i was thinking about ordering but i am not going to be ripped off

Susan Haynie
Susan Haynie
2 years ago

Sorry to say if you have a serious eye problem where are bifocals these glasses aren’t going to help you I put them on and could not see through them exit 160 and 200 a magnifying glasses at the 99 Cent Store go to 350 and I can’t see out of those either they should tell you this before you buy them not a bad idea for some

Susan Haynie
Susan Haynie
2 years ago

I bought this thinking that they were magnifying glasses 160 and 200 would not work for me I have macular even discount magnifying glasses to 350 won’t work they should tell you these things but it’s a nice idea for the glasses anyway

ralph baker
ralph baker
2 years ago

Bought a pair for my wife, they worked good for about 2 weeks and now they don’t light up. I put them on the charger over night and they still don’t work. Called customer NO service, and all they could tell me is that I must have got them wet or broke them (NO HELP at all). MY wife likes them so off to the store to buy another pair – at this rate these things are going to cost me about $40 per month, at that rate she can just turn on the house lights and wake me up.… Read more »

John H
John H
2 years ago

piece of crap i tried to charge them but the LED came on and could not turn them off so the battery is dead every time i want to use them. they are in the trash now!!!

allen musicant
allen musicant
2 years ago

biggest farce ever bought the 2 pack did not want the xtrs got them anyway and and no hard case only felt the light on the first unit i turned it on and off to save light as long as possible when i charged them it would not again. the second pair never even lit up the viewing was worthless i see no better than my regular glasses. i was still trying to figure out why they did not work and finally the lenses fell out. trash can here they are. worst internet purchase i have ever made<

Robert Kenny
Robert Kenny
1 year ago

They would be great if they actually fit over your glasses. So for me they aren’t worth a dime.

Linda Mcdonald
Linda Mcdonald
1 year ago

i just bought and charged them and i am very up set . they do not work ,my glasses work better. they are crap

Noel
Noel
1 year ago

I like mighty sight better than my prescribed reading glasses , I can thread a needle if I have I sit in the dark and read with lights on the sides of the glasses but I don’t charge them , I don’t know what I am going to do when the bulbs die a great investment for me

Juanita Trauffer
Juanita Trauffer
1 year ago

I’m surprised that there were any negative reviews. I first bought one pair at Walmart for $19.99. I loved then so much that I have sent for the 2 for 19 offer plus an extra pair on line. They are great for reading when light is dim. I especially love them for working jigsaw puzzles. I have used my first pair a lot, and it is working just fine. I usually use them everyday, and refresh the charge through my computer in the evening.

Madeline
1 year ago

Won’t charge for the LED light. The USB cord doesn’t fit into the port. I have another pair and the same thing. Very disappointed. I wish I would have read these reviews after I purchased my second pair as a gift to someone.

Joan Garcia
Joan Garcia
1 year ago

I bought 2 pairs ($24.99+tax each) from HSN (October 2020) to read tiny print on product and prescription bottles. The magnification is fine and the USB charging is quick. Now both pairs just started to break off, leaving sharp edges at the tip of the handles over the ears. I can’t return them. The return policy is only 30 days. I expected them to last and would not recommend them.

Greg Akrey
Greg Akrey
1 year ago

These work ok for the money! No complaints

Janet Urban
Janet Urban
10 months ago

I just had to throw my 4th pair away. For some reason I kept buying more even though after 2 charges they no longer worked. I am a senior citizen and because of medication have to go to the bathroom several times a night. Rather than turn lights on and wake up my family, I have used them to light my way to and from the bedroom. I am disappointed that they don’t last more than 2 charges and so now I will have to find another way to light my way.

Jen
Jen
3 months ago

This is the 2nd pair of jml mighty glasses I have had and the lights are not working I think you need to go back to the drawing board guys

Da Queen
Da Queen
22 days ago

I bought my pair at a local Wal-Mart. They worked great the first two uses. Now after I try to charge them the LED lights don’t work. These are only magnifying worthy. They have been sitting on my night stand from the get go, so they haven’t been mishandled for them not to work.