LOADING

Type to search

Kitchen

Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill Review: Indoor Smokeless Grilling?

James White Oct 25

Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill is an indoor grill that does not produce smoke. Does it really work? Here is my Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill review.

Sponsored Links

How to Purchase

You can buy the Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill on Amazon for about $40. On the official website (gothamsmokeless.com), it still costs about $80 (which is still the original 2017 price), split into four equal payments and free shipping. I bought the Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill at a local Bed Bath & Beyond for $79.99 in November 2017 and used a 20% coupon, which dropped $16 off of the price.

About Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill

Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill is a titanium grill with a nonstick surface that stops the formation of smoke with the use of a heated grilling grate and a cool drip pan. The official product website is gothamsmokeless.com, which was registered in May 2017. The screenshot below shows how the product website looked in October 2017.

gotham steel smokeless grill review

Claims & Features

  • Made from titanium with ceramic coating
  • Nonstick and non-scratch surface
  • Grilling grate is heated to prevent smoke
  • Smoke is also prevented from developing by the cool drip pan
  • Surface Heats evenly
  • Safe to use in dishwasher
  • 90 day money back guarantee

Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill Review

Gotham Steel, Copper Chef, Red Copper. It seems that at least one of these brands has a new product out every week. Indeed, the copper bandwagon that filled up last year continues to roll through the late night infomercial universe, and today I’m looking at the Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill.

Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill features their “ti-cerama” nonstick surface, a heated grilling grate, a separate griddle, and a cool drip pan that prevents smoke from forming. To use Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill, you simply turn it on, set the heat dial, and allow it to warm up before placing your food on the surface. When fat and oils drip from the food, they fall onto a pan below that is away from the heat, thus the amount of smoke is said to be minimal.

The size of this grill could be seen as a pro or a con. It’s not as large as other grills in its price range, with a capacity of about 6 hamburgers or 2-3 steaks. For those cooking for only one or two people, that is not a problem. Its small size could also be preferable to something like the Philips Smokeless Indoor Grill (see below) which may have a larger capacity, but it also takes up much more room to store. The size of the grill itself is 10.75 x 12.75.

Sponsored Links

I picked up a Gotham Steel Smokeless grill at a local Bed Bath & Beyond for $80 and used a 20% coupon to drop $16 off of the price. In my video below you can see the results of my tests, which I will also summarize here. Note that as of this 2020 update, the grill can be found for half of what it was back in 2017.

When I tried four quarter pound hamburger patties, there was a fair amount of smoke, although it was less than you’d get with an outdoor grill or frying them indoors. The same could be said for the steak I made, too. Cleanup after the hamburgers was a snap, but after the steak I noticed some residue that was somewhat difficult to remove. With the burgers and the steak, there was only minimal splatter, which did reach the surrounding counter.

Next up was salmon and shrimp, and again the shrimp started to stick in the middle where the steak had been. Everything on the outer edge (where the steak had not been) did not stick. The drip pan and black base were easy to clean, and I ended up placing them in the dishwasher where they held up fine and came out in like-new condition.

For my test of the griddle, I made sausage, bacon, and an egg. One peculiar thing I noticed is that the bacon toward the center seemed to cook more quickly than the bacon toward the edges, which means I had to rotate them. With the griddle, because everything was cooking in its own grease, I experienced far more splatter than with the grill.

If you look at the box, the product is spelled “Smoke-Less” and not “Smokeless” which to me is no accident. I believe the name implies a grill with less smoke, not completely smokeless. I do think that the amount smoke produced by this grill is acceptable.

What is not acceptable, however, is how quickly the nonstick surface degraded. I have numerous products using this new generation of nonstick coating, and it has been my experience that you have to baby such coatings, including low heat and non-abrasive cleaners. The problem here is that you need high heat in order to grill some foods – like hamburgers and steak. Compounding the problem is that the grill and griddle can’t be submerged in water, so you can’t soak them in order to dislodge residue.

In short, I feel that the claim that it produces less smoke is accurate, but the nonstick coating seems destined to fail rather quickly under the high heat of the grill.

Alternatives

The Philips Smokeless Indoor Grill is probably the gold standard in this category, currently listed as an Amazon’s Choice for $150, with a 4.3 star rating. This Hamilton Beach Indoor Grill only runs about $70, and it sports a high rating among customers who have purchased it.

Video Review

Below is my full video review of Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill, in which I make hamburgers, steak, sausage, salmon, shrimp, eggs, and bacon.

Your Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill Reviews

Have you used Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill or something like it? Tell me what you think in the comments below.

Tags:
James White

James White is based in Las Vegas, Nevada, and has been reviewing strange gadgets since 2011. He also runs the successful "Freakin' Reviews" YouTube channel.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
5 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Lorraine Pounds
Lorraine Pounds
2 years ago

Well, you should not be using a metal fork, for one thing. Don’t ya think?

W Beck
W Beck
2 years ago

The first time I used it it blew up!

Sandra
Sandra
7 months ago

I got the Gotham steel smokeless and I am very upset mad, unhappy with the product. I try to return it, they wanted to charge me double the amount of what I pay so it is not worth even trying to send it back, I stop the payment collection I contacted them and no answer. Now I started to receive the collection treats so just letting everyone know because this is not what they publish on tv at all.

Susan Raymond
Susan Raymond
4 months ago

I bought the Gotham Smokeless Grill after seeing the shows on TV and it looked so easy to use and was nonstick. I have used it numerous times. Food sticks and burns and the smoke fills my apartment. I am really disappointed in this grill. Will never recommend it!!

Marc Delmas
Marc Delmas
3 months ago

Guys! This bbq is great for the price grill work fast easy to clean it’s like a real women you have to takcare of it take time patience monitor heat not alway high follow the instructions regarding some marination at the end do not let the unit to cool off completely your wash it while warm with a small towel hot water and soap take time because you love her no problem all good I am very happy with it I RECOMMEND it to the right people to all cowboys don’t bother to buy it